Boycott Chick-Fil-A

6 Jan

I started to boycott Chick-Fil-A back in the early 90’s, when I found out how much money they donated to anti-choice groups.  Now I have even more reason to boycott this nasty and hateful organization.  They have jumped in bed with the National Organization for Marriage (NOM).  Chick-Fil-A serves up some hot fried chicken with venom and hate with each sandwich.  This so called “christian” restaurant, founded by Truett Cathy, is co-sponsoring events through NOM.  Please do not patronize this anti-woman, and homophobic restaurant.  I know we do not have Chick-Fil-A here in the Pacific Northwest, but coming from Georgia, I know they litter the South.  See the full stories on Jeremy’s blog.

10 Responses to “Boycott Chick-Fil-A”

  1. Jennifer January 6, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    Damn it!! Their chicken-minis are so yummy!!!

    Guess I’m gonna have one more reason to work on my health diet after chunking out over the holidays.

  2. risa January 7, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    I’m from Georgia too. This is not out-of-the-ordinary for corporations in those parts. The food industry notably.

    But on a lighter note: I once worked as a journalistic tape-feed technician at the State Capitol. I was very poor, and spent a lot of my time tapping the free milk dispenser in the Senate lobby. Running late, I tore around a corner once with a tall tumbler of CHOCOLATE milk, and ran smack into Lester Maddox, who was running the opposite way; we were both drenched. He was awfully nice about it, but over time I have found the incident more and more … umm, entertaining.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 7, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

      I’m glad we both escaped the South. I LOVE the story of you spilling chocolate milk on our Lester Maddox! Priceless. My husband once accidentally stepped on Bob Barr’s foot at the airport and now shares the story with a certain amount of glee.

  3. Wayne January 7, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    It sounds like you are the one full of hate. Chik-fil-a provides scholarships for their workers and does a lot of community service.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 7, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

      They help only if you are Christian and NOT GAY!

    • penguinlad January 7, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      Sorry, Wayne, but doing a few good works doesn’t cut it. Many organizations (the Salvation Army and Catholic Charities spring to mind) use their religion to do some good in the world and then turn around and use it as a club on those they deem “not worthy”. Chik-Fil-A is behaving the same way. Holding a set of beliefs is one thing; using them to deny other people rights is quite another. Using the power of the market to discourage this behavior is a reasonable and powerful tool.

  4. Thomas McAnulty January 22, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    I actually used to work at CFA. I was very surprised that I was hired, because I am flamboyantly gay. One time I went into work, wearing just some basic makeup with a little touch of eye-liner. My manager made me take off my makeup. I asked why. He responded with ‘Guys should not wear makeup’. I was so in shock. I worked at DQ for 3 years before CFA, they did not care at all that I would wear a little makeup. I have very dramatic bangs, I would wear these pulled back with a couple of hair pins (they wouldn’t allow me to wear my hair down). I also got asked to remove my hair pins because ‘the customer can see those and we don’t want them thinking negatively for a man wearing hair pins’. CFA has done nothing but discriminate against my own personal style. I understand that we need to look uniform, but the girls who worked there wore makeup, nail-polish, and jewelry. But yet, I can’t wear my natural looking makeup or a couple hair pins so my hair doesn’t move? No. Oh, and their wonderful organization ‘Family First’ has helped millions of lives, would you like to donate? No I would not like to donate. This organization is almost worse than CFA is. I haven’t ate CFA since I quit my job.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 23, 2011 at 7:46 am #

      Wow. It was painful to read your comment. I am so sorry you had to experience such horrible discrimination! Thank you for having the courage to share your story on this blog. More people to know how homophobic Chik-Fil-A really is. Thank you again!

    • rhulshofschmidt January 23, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      Thank you, Thomas, for sharing your personal experience. I’m so sorry you had to endure such awful prejudice. You helped inspire me to write my story about corporate abuse today.
      Best,
      Robert

Leave a comment