Celebrating Black History Month: February 18

18 Feb

Honoring The Queen of Soul

Today I would like to honor and pay tribute to Aretha Franklin. There is only one Queen of Soul, and that is Ms. Aretha Franklin. With a total of 20 Grammy Awards, Franklin had ten Number 1 R&B albums – more than any other female artist – between the years 1967 and 1982.  In 1987, Frankin became the first woman to be inducted into the Rock&Roll Hall of Fame.  Ms. Franklin performed at both President Clinton’s first inauguration and President Obama’s inauguration. Much of Franklin’s early work was influenced by the amazing Mahalia Jackson. Franklin’s first breakthrough hit was I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You), which I love, but not as much as (what used to be called the B side of the ’45) Do Right Woman. Of course, her second single, and I would describe it as her signature, was Respect (written by Otis Redding); it’s also the ring tone on my cell phone. Both Respect and Think became anthems for the Civil Rights Movement. Another one of my favorites is The House that Jack Built.  I would be remiss if I did not tip my hat to Natural Woman. Finally, I would like to dedicate Chain of Fools to John Boehner and the GOP.

2 Responses to “Celebrating Black History Month: February 18”

  1. webwordwarrior February 18, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your passion for the Queen of Soul. I’ve never spent a lot of time with Ms. Franklin. Your sampling above has made me want to look for more!

Leave a Reply

