Gunning for a good search…

20 Feb

This is not a Gun "site"

I am truly enjoying this whole blogging experience and hope that in my small way I am contributing to society–that I am making people think, or reflect, or take action. A strange learning experience for me along this journey of blogging is how the internet works, or does not work. I have to say  I love that my blog reaches people all over the world. I love that I get comments from people in India, Bulgaria, and Australia. I love that I get messages from parents trying to understand their gay or lesbian child. I love that people come to my blog for stories on civil rights, Women’s History, Black History, and LGBT issues. With that being said, I have been bemused by the mind-boggling number of search engine terms that bring people to my blog. For those of you that are regular followers, it does not come as a surprise that I am a pacifist, and social activist for civil rights. How ironic then that one of the largest search engine terms that brings people to my blog is “guns.”  Yes, over 13% of all of my search engine terms that direct people to The Solipsistic Me (TSM) is the word gun or guns. I can only imagine how sad the reader must be when they see the story it brings them to, usually Gun Crazy Nation. Of course, I am sad that more people search the word gun than Coretta Scott King, or women’s rights, or Marriage Equality. Now I am left to ponder the implications of a gun obsessed culture–a culture that privileges violence over peace, violence over equality, violence over political party. Who are these angry violent voices? Sadly, they are usually the voices of “christians.

14 Responses to “Gunning for a good search…”

  1. Jennifer February 20, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Do you understand how the google algorithms return results? Best be careful of what you’re linking on your site!😉

    Now, I’m off to buy a gun…

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 20, 2011 at 2:30 pm #


      Thanks for the links. Good luck buying that gun🙂

      • Jennifer February 20, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

        I’m in TX. I just bought two automatic assault rifles and a bottle of tequila a the ‘gun and liquor’ store.
        PS: There actually is a gun and liquor store in town.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 20, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

        Did go through the “Drive-Thru” ?

      • Jennifer February 20, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

        No, I needed the exercise so I walked inside ;p

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 20, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

        Yes, I have always found you to be most sensible while buying your guns and liquor.🙂

      • Jen February 21, 2011 at 7:06 am #

        Of course! If you don’t plan ahead or exercise good judgment, you don’t get enough liquor or ammunition.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 21, 2011 at 7:10 am #

        Jen, I do remember when I lived in Houston, it was legal to drive while drinking and to have a gun in the car. I don’t know if the laws have changed or not.

  2. webwordwarrior February 20, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    This is fascinating. Who would have guessed that guns would point at TSM? It’s clear from this post that you do not practice pun control, however.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 20, 2011 at 3:07 pm #


      “Pun Control?” Oh my! I know you tickled yourself with that one:) I have 33 searches for guns right now and 2 searches in Russian for guns. OY!

      • webwordwarrior February 20, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

        In a story so riddled with wordplay, I just had to have a peace of the action.

  3. combscp February 20, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Thanks for first commenting on my blog which in turn brought me to yours! I’ve been enjoying your posts, they’re always very insightful and intelligent. That’s rare.🙂

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 20, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

      Thanks, Cory. It is nice to be in the company of others that are fighting for equality.

  4. Jenny68 February 20, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    I’m waiting for the pervert angle- to kick in
    Perhaps something earthy like “guns and Boobs”

Leave a Reply

