Bigot of the Week Award: June 3

3 Jun

Bigot of the Week

Sometimes I am so amazed and often disgusted at the candidate that ends up earning the BWA.  This week’s winner will certainly be in the running for the annual Bigot of the Year Award.  V.S. Naipaul, the Nobel Laureate for Literature, showed the world just how alive misogyny is.   V.S. Naipaul made many offensive misogynistic comments this past week, but his comments below

I read a piece of writing and within a paragraph or two I know whether it is by a woman or not. I think [it is] unequal to me…And inevitably for a woman, she is not a complete master of a house, so that comes over in her writing too,

most certainly earn him this week’s BWA.  If you can stomach it, I encourage you to read the full article here.

5 Responses to “Bigot of the Week Award: June 3”

  1. Jennifer Lockett June 3, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Oh no! Why do I work outside the home? :*(

  2. Podunk June 4, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    Alright, for the most part I tend to ignore your Bigot of the Week awards but I feel I must speak on this one. Holy bloody cow, I could not agree more with you that this fellow is a truly idiotic excuse for a man. Hell, slap him with the Bigot of the Year award too. The fact that he is a Nobel Laureate for Literature is even more sorrowing. His breed of bigotry doesn’t belong in the literary world. It would be one thing if he were a writer of generations past, then his type of misogyny would be fairly expected but he’s a man living in the present. Shouldn’t his views be somewhat updated? The entire article, which quotes more of his nastiness, is far more disturbing that your little blurb. Good catch on this one man. I’m glad there is a fair amount of outcry over his comments.


  1. I hate your views with a passion unmatched by my fellows. « At the bottom of the river - June 4, 2011

    […] My post was inspired/stolen from Michael’s post. […]

Leave a Reply

