Hero of the Week Award: June 3

3 Jun

Hero of the Week Award

While I know he may have many detractors, I have always admired the activism of the late Dr. Jack Kevorkian.  Jack Kevorkian earns this week’s HWA. Kevorkian helped 130 people die with dignity.  I am very fortunate.  My husband and I live in a state where there is legal protection for terminally ill people that are suffering.  Kevorkian served eight years in prison for helping terminally ill people–I wonder how many people today would be willing to serve prison time for, what I would label, helping extend civil rights, even the right to die?

4 Responses to “Hero of the Week Award: June 3”

  1. Podunk June 4, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Dr. Kevorkian is indeed an inspiring man who had fought long and hard for the right for people to die. I too live in a state where people have finally been given that important right and I only wish the laws had been passed sooner so that my father, who died from brain and skin cancer, could have gone peacefully instead of suffering so much in his final hours. He was a member of the Hemlock Society and believed in what Dr. Kevorkian was doing. Why people could possibly deny compassion in death is truly beyond me but again and again from nearly every denomination in Christianity I see nothing but condemnation for this right. I fail to see how God could have an issue with people being allowed to die peacefully instead of in agonizing pain. Even I must agree with you that, sometimes, Christians are indeed idiots.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 4, 2011 at 9:18 am #

      My Dear Podunk, I’m so very sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing the story of your father here. Let us hope that you sharing the loss of your father will help inspire others in other states to take action and work toward creating legislation that protects the right to die with dignity.

  2. Podunk June 4, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Thank you very much for your kind words. I wish people would get their heads outta their asses and figure out that it’s not murder to help someone along to a peaceful death. But unfortunately, it more often than not takes them having to watch their own loved ones suffer through a painful death to wake them up to the importance of right to die legislation. When someone you love is suffering, you would do anything to stop it.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 4, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

      I do believe we are the agents of change, my dear Podunk. I also fear that religion plays such a key role into the ignorance you so accurately identify that prevents many from acting in a humane fashion.

Leave a Reply

