Celebrating LGBTQ History Month: June 15, RuPaul

15 Jun

Today I would like to honor and pay tribute to RuPaul.  RuPaul, born RuPaul Andre Charles, recounts his mother’s choosing his name, “His name is RuPaul Andre Charles and he’s gonna be a star! Cause ain’t another mother f**ker alive with a name like that!”  RuPaul may very well be the most recognized and celebrated drag queen in the world.  I salute him for raising the visibility of the LGBT community and of gender non-conforming people.  While most people know his two television shows, RuPaul’s Drag Race and RuPaul’s Drag U, he got his start in Atlanta, Georgia’s gay club scene.  Moving from San Diego to Atlanta was the right move:

 We all relocated to Atlanta, GA. We fell on “hard times” when we first moved to Atlanta and it was very tough. But still I felt so happy to leave San Diego, I never felt like I belonged there…Till this day, when people ask me where I’m from, I say “Hotlanta!” I was really able to blossom there, just like the beautiful Dogwood trees do in the springtime.

I loved his appearance in But I’m a Cheerleader.  The LGBT community owes a debt of gratitude to RuPaul for his visibility and vigilance.  Click here to learn more about our RuPaul.

Leave a Reply

