Marriage Equality = Red Scare (?)

15 Jun

A Laugh with Joe Stalin

Thank you to my friend David for inspiring this story.  I’m so embarrassed. I did not read the minutes from the last homo agenda meeting, because there must have been something about promoting communism during the meeting.  I must have been making out my grocery list during that part of the meeting. Apparently, according to New York Archbishop Timothy Dolan (a.k.a. the new Joe McCarthy), I am a communist.  I had better join the party today as well as do my part to attack hetero marriages? Oy!  What a busy day I have before me.  It is not easy being gay.

According to the KKKristian Dolan:

Last time I consulted an atlas, it is clear we are living in New York, in the United States of America – not in China or North Korea.  In those countries, government presumes daily to “redefine” rights, relationships, values, and natural law.  There, communiqués from the government can dictate the size of families, who lives and who dies, and what the very definition of “family” and “marriage” means.

Clearly this man has no sense of irony.  Dolan’s refusal to accept marriage equality is tantamount to the government defining what a family can look like, the very philosophy he says he is against.  Isn’t this called hypocrisy?  Bigotry?  When will playing the “fear gay people card” just get tired and old? Really, Dolan? Communism, that’s the best you can do? Click here to read the full article.

3 Responses to “Marriage Equality = Red Scare (?)”

  1. Jennifer Lockett June 15, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Homosexuality has sometimes been labeled by communists as “one of the effects of capitalist sociality”[1][2] and the product of the bourgeoisie,[3][4][5] while most communists, especially in recent times, have argued that Gay Liberation is a key issue according to Marxist thought.[6][7][8]

    Hmmm seems like homosexuality has had the same experience in communist countries as it has in capitalist ones – condemned as a perversion of the enemy or legalized under modern concepts of human rights.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 15, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

      Jen, there you go throwing facts into the equation. Don’t you know that Michele Bachmann is not interested in facts?

      • Jennifer Lockett June 16, 2011 at 9:36 am #

        Why do I keep doing that?

Leave a comment