Non-Violent Activism: Alive and Well

19 Jun

Thank you to my friend Sharon for inspiring this article. There are many wonderful things I love about President Obama.  His continued support of our involvement in the current wars is not some thing I can support.  While I always believe we are here to help one another and to support all of our brothers and sisters in the world, I do believe we have not tried non-violence in the past 25 years.

I worry that we have forgotten the lessons of Mahatma Gandhi, Bayard Rustin, and Dr. King.  I worry that we have sold our souls to corporate greed and conspicuous consumption.  I was quite heartened to see a note from my friend Sharon about taking action.  Click here to see how we as Americans can take action and send a message of non-violence around the world. I feel strongly that we have to unite to fight racism, homophobia, misogyny, and all forms of oppression in a non-violent fashion, for all of these are interconnected.

Leave a Reply

