Hero of the Week Award: June 24

24 Jun

Hero of the Week

First, I have to give an honorable mention to Mayor Cory Booker of Newark, NJ for his stand on marriage equality:  “By law, a mayor can conduct marriages.  But I won’t do so until I can freely conduct them for all my residents equally.  I dream of that day.”  I also want to thank my friend “Voice of the Trailer” for her nomination of Jason West, the Mayor of New Paltz, New York.

West has been marrying same-sex couples since 2004 and his dedication to marriage equality earns him this week’s HWA.  West said:

I hope that we have one more republican do the right thing, but even if we don’t I feel that there’s going to be somebody who walks out of that chamber and regrets it and votes yes this year.

I also love that West looks at his job and at marriage equality through the lens of, “my job is to uphold the constitution of the United States and New York State.”   Bravo!  Bavo, Mayor West.  Click here to see the video and the article.

Leave a Reply

