A Case For Misanthropy (?)

6 Jul

Remembering Larry King

My friend Jen Lockett, a fierce ally for the LGBT community, inspired me to write this story.  Many of you may remember the brutal murder of the gay 15 year old, Larry King.   Now as the story unfolds, I find myself feeling sick and exhausted at the hate and nothing less than sociopathy directed at the LGBT community.  I harken back to a story I wrote a long while ago: I prefer not to.

While I try to keep optimistic, and in part it is the reason I started this blog, and I try to keep the voices of hate at bay — Michele Bachmann, Maggie Gallagher, Matthew Franck, David Tyree, Bryan Fischer, Tracy Morgan, and all of the rest of the hate mongers — there comes a time when it weighs so heavily that one feels powerless and defeated.  It is easy to understand why so many LGBT youth commit suicide: it takes great courage and internal fortitude to survive and push the hate back to make things better for future generations.

Reading the testimony of Brandon McInerney made me want to spit up and cry at the same time.   McInerney shot King in the head and killed him.  McInerney explained that his white supremacist belief that homosexuality is an abomination was due cause for King’s death.

And when you thought it could not get worse, McInerney’s lawyer, Scott Wippert, proves just how revolting human beings can be. Wippert said:

 that King — and not his client — was the aggressor. He said King targeted McInerney for sexual harassment, making flirtatious remarks, and had humiliated him.

First, there is no evidence that suggest King was flirting with McInerney, but by this logic, are we to assume that any woman Wippert has flirted with has the right to shoot him dead? Alas, we have a double standard for LGBT people.  I do not write this article to give into despair, or to become a total misanthrope. I write this article to beat back the darkness, to expose the hate, to give hope to a world that looks very different.  The world cannot look different thought if we are not OUT and VISIBLE.  The world will not look different if we do not VOTE!  The personal is political.  Click here for the full article.

4 Responses to “A Case For Misanthropy (?)”

  1. Jennifer Lockett July 6, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    This story makes me want to vomit. Why is this child’s parents not on trial? He obviously got this ‘arian perspective’ somewhere…

    Also, Michael, we all know that male on female sexual harassment is necessary to propagate the species! You referenced it yourself!


    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 6, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

      Jennifer Lockett, you are such a wonderful ally! I love and adore you, dear heart. Thanks also for the very lovely article you point to–my what a talented writer:)

  2. Tim July 7, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    Nothing says “I’m not gay” like killing a fellow gay classmate. You’re definitely straight now, McInerney.

    I think McInerney offers something that I hear on occasion–there’s a weird mental state that some ‘straight’ guys enter into that usually involves saying: “I don’t mind gay guys,” with the added contractual clause, “so long as they don’t hit on me!”

    In other words, the fantastic mental representation they have is that gay guys are irresistibly attracted to the holder of the totally straight “contract”. This points out what Freud would have called a ‘turning around’ of a instinct/drive: the straight guy’s instinct/drive towards homosexuality is turned into a passive voice of ‘Gay guys hit on me!’ rather than the more active, ‘I hit on gay guys!’ Throw in some neurotic guilt, i.e. a funky father, extreme religion, etc. and there you have it. McInerney’s crime, a Freudian avalanche, unconsciously stated that it’s much better (for him) to persecute than to be persecuted–something that certainly comes into play with members of Congress.

    But on a non-psychoanalytic note, McInerney is really flattering himself here.

    Let’s just entertain the idea that the gay kid didn’t hit on the ugly and sexually aloof Aryan Nation kid at his high school. Because really, who likes ugly and sexually aloof Aryan Nation kids except other ugly and sexually aloof Aryan Nation kids?

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 7, 2011 at 8:13 am #

      Tim, Great analysis here. Yes, I do believe McInerney is a closet case and suffers from “If I destroy what I don’t like and see, then I can destroy that part of myself I hate.” Thank you for being such a wonderful and tremendous ally to the LGBT community!

Leave a Reply

