Kudos to Our Heterosexual Women Allies!

8 Jul

The Next State For Marriage Equality

I need to thank my friend and fellow do-gooder, Christopher Gable for sharing this article with me and inspiring me to craft this article. I truly believe it will take the action and support of our heterosexual allies to help pave the way for marriage equality everywhere. I am fortunate enough to live in a state where we have some allies that are unveiling a campaign for marriage equality in Oregon.

The new non-profit organization, Straight Women For Marriage Equality is raising money and traveling all through Oregon to fight for the civil rights of the LGBT community.  Timi Parker, a retired school teacher living in Newberg, is a part of this non-profit organization.  I will let her words speak for themselves:

The bottom line for us is the golden rule…We should treat other people the way we want to be treated…For me, this conversation needs to be about what kind of a state we want this to be,” she said. “I’m 60 years old. I’d like to leave my grandchildren a much more equitable place.

We hope to see marriage equality pass in 2012 here in Oregon.  Basic Rights Oregon has already produced some fantastic and compelling commercials for marriage equality.  Click here to read the full article and to get involved.

2 Responses to “Kudos to Our Heterosexual Women Allies!”

  1. webwordwarrior July 8, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    How wonderful to see this work from LGBT allies. Let’s hope Oregon can join my home state(s) on the equality parade very soon.

Leave a Reply

