We Are All Connected

10 Jul

Rep. John Lewis

I want to thank my friend Sibel Alp, for inspiring this post.  Sibel is a beautifully strong and brilliant woman I met over 20 years ago and she is also someone who works to make the world a better place for all people.

I have been quite pensive and perhaps even a bit maudlin today, as I thought about what I wanted to write about for TSM. Perhaps I have also been a bit melancholy because of the loss of Betty Ford, and for me the symbolic loss of intelligent and remarkable Republicans.  I have some difficult stories coming up soon that will address the attacks on women, the poor, and the LGBT communities, so I wanted something uplifting for today.

I hope all that read TSM take away the message that we all have to be engaged in the work of eradicating racism, misogyny, poverty, homophobia, transphobia, Islamophobia, ageism, and planetary sustainability. My hope is that as people read this blog, they become more aware of the interconnectedness of all forms of discrimination which requires us to be champions for all who are marginalized.  Taking up the banner of civil rights for all can only help all humans, which I believe will also help the planet.  I found this short video that I think helps to illustrate how connected we all are.  I chose to attach a picture of John Lewis to this story because he is a hero of mine and when I think of people who dedicate their lives to social justice, I think of Rep. John Lewis (D-GA).

Leave a Reply

