Another Queen of Mean: Does Hate Sell?

1 Aug

The Queen of Mean

My husband and I usually enjoy watching Real Time With Bill Maher.  While I do consider him, in many ways, a typical white, hetero, frat boy, I like his politics and I like that his ability to be politically incorrect allows him to expose hypocrites.

Sadly, we turned on the television to watch his show only to see Ann(thrax) Coulter on his panel. My tolerance for venom is at an all time low. We see and get enough of it from Michele Bachmann and her “straight” husband.  I was also sad that Maher gave her any airtime, especially since she was on there to plug her new book, DemonicHow the Liberal Mob Is Endangering America.  Quite honestly, when I saw the title Demonic, I was expecting a tell all book about her clandestine affair with the Devil, but then when I last spoke to Satan, he said she was kind of mean and was off putting.

Anthrax’ latest rant is to do some more gay bashing: reporting that she wished there were a DADT policy for society and how she wished we would just go away.  Well, if all of the heterosexuals would quit producing LGBT kids, she could have her wish. I, for one, am glad we are not going anywhere.

From a sociological perspective, I’m curious as to why people are attracted to Coulter? She hates women, she is against reproductive rights, she hates, the LGBT community, she hates Muslims, she seems to hate anyone that is not white, heterosexual and Christian. When will her type of hate stop selling?  When will others turn off their televisions, as we did and say enough is enough? I now point you to a blog from a friend of mine who also anticipates the desirable decline of Coulter.

3 Responses to “Another Queen of Mean: Does Hate Sell?”

  1. Null August 1, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    This post is very appropriately tagged “hypocrisy” since you refer to Ann Coulter as “Anthrax” and suggest she had an affair with Satan while complaining about “hate” and “venom”.

  2. Jay August 1, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    I can’t stand Coulter–fingernails on chalkboard analogies come to mind–but Maher, to his credit I believe, frequently has guests on his panel that he strongly disagrees with. Coulter is so over-the-top outrageous that I’ve sometimes wondered if she’s an elaborate drag-queen parody of a super-skinny evil ice-queen blonde.

    As to her fan-base, they appear to be the same sweaty white guys who fawn over Palin and Bachmann, though my evidence is anecdotal and based on momentary flashes of her book-signings and speeches that I’ve glimpsed on C-Span before hurriedly changing the channel.

    As an aside, may I suggest getting a DVR? They are standard-issue with satellite providers like DirecTV, and It really is lovely to be able to fast-forward through the least appetizing part of a program.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt August 1, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

      ” she’s an elaborate drag-queen parody of a super-skinny evil ice-queen blonde.” I wonder the same.

Leave a Reply

