You’ve Come a Long Way, Baby (?)

9 Aug

We Need You, Helen

In 1968, Phillip Morris introduced  cigarette brand, Virginia Slims.  The catchy slogan was, You’ve Come a Long Way, Baby. Yes, nothing says women’s equality and equal rights like lung cancer.  Aside from the lung cancer issue, it did feel as though there was real progress being made in the late 60’s and early 70’s to create some parity for women.

When I read the article about “Mini-skirt Monday,” I reflected how severe the backlash on women’s rights has been. A woman in Utah was fired from her job after filing a sexual harassment civil complaint against Lone Peak Controls and D&L Electric Control Company.  Trudy Anderson reported that her boss, Derek Wright, sexually harassed her for years.  Anderson documents the harassment and refers to a memo prescribing how she should dress for the week:

On top of “Mini-skirt Monday,” the schedule called for “Tube-top Tuesday,” “Wet T-shirt Wednesday,” “No bra Thursday” and “Bikini top Friday.

I suppose I am just naive, but do men really say things like this? I feel like I had a bad touch just reading the article. I can’t imagine how horrible Anderson must have felt to have to endure this type of harassment.

I also reflect on the past few months and how anti-woman the House of Representatives has become, thank you John Boehner. What really leaves me nonplussed is how many women are so horribly anti-woman.  I see Michele Bachmann and Sarah Palin and women of their ilk fighting against women’s health and fighting against reproductive rights.  I don’t understand the mentality of “save the fetus, but who cares about the baby.”  I will conclude with, “There is a long way to go,” rather than “You’ve Come a Long Way, Baby.”  I need to thank my friend “Voice from the Trailer” for sharing this article with me.  Click here to read more.

4 Responses to “You’ve Come a Long Way, Baby (?)”

  1. Jay August 9, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Amazing. This case sounds like kinks-gone-terribly-wrong.

    To answer your rhetorical question “do men really say things like that?” I would say yes, and a few women do too, but I wager it is rare outside of kinky Dom/sub relationships. I could give several specific examples, all involving consenting adults, but this is a family-friendly blog.

    As to the case at hand, my devil’s advocate is compelled to point out that at least an egregious violation of the law is easier to prove, and result in a significant damages award, than a subtle one, but that’s like saying its better to have a severe injury in a car wreck than a mild one, since there’s more money in a severe injury. The problem with that reasoning is In the latter case you’re more severely injured, and there’s the dangerous possibility that the party at fault is uninsured and broke, so the upside chance of more money may never materialize.

    I hope she ends up owning the company and that it is far more than an empty shell when she collects.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt August 9, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

      Yes, I do hope she ends up owning the company. You make many good points and it is usually a very good thing for someone to play devil’s advocate–helps keep us honest.

  2. Tori Stephenson August 10, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Hear, hear! I’m constantly reminded of how far there is left to go and a little surprised by how many people believe that, now that we have the right to vote, there’s nothing left to fight for. We need more voices like this!

Leave a Reply

