Bigot of the Week Award: August 26, Rabbi Yehuda Levin

26 Aug

Bigot of the Week

What a sad week.  There was no shortage of bigots to be found.  I need to thank friend and fellow blogger, True Confessions of a Female Motorcyclist, for inspiring me to write about this week’s BWA.  Apparently, the LGBT community is far more powerful than I even knew. I shall have to write the President of the Gay Agenda and let him know of our super powers.

Rabbi Yehuda Levin has now created a youtube video blaming gays for the earthquake on the east coast this week.  Apparently, we have also used our super powers to cause hurricane Irene.  His statements scapegoating gays certainly earns him the BWA.  The Bigot Levin was quoted as saying: “You have shaken your male member in a place where it doesn’t belong. I too will shake the earth.”  Is it me, or does he seem obsessed with what men are doing with our “members?”   While I hate to direct anyone to his youtube viedo, here it is if you feel compelled to witness his hate speech.

Because his comments are not only bigoted but completely insane, I am not even going to dignify them with a direct response.  My hope is that he and Mark Bachmann find each other and one day celebrate their love openly.

I also feel compelled to offer a dishonorable mention to this week’s BWA.  Thank you to my friend Jen Lockett for inspiring me to share this. Unfortunately, the homophobic bigot, Jerry Buell from Florida, was reinstated after posting hateful anti-gay comments on Facebook. While I certainly support his right to Free Speech and “will defend to the death to protect it,” I do not believe he should be in a classroom around students who would be guided by his views.  He is in a position of power and he is abusing that power.  His syllabus says:

I teach God’s truth, I make very few compromises. If you believe you may have a problem with that, get your schedule changed, ’cause I ain’t changing!

Buell has also said that his classroom is his “mission field.”  I think it is safe to say he will not be protecting LGBT students from bullying at his school.  As someone who was an educator for over 20 years, all I can say is that I’m disgusted with Buell and the Superintendent for reinstating him–I would not feel my child was safe near this bigot.

9 Responses to “Bigot of the Week Award: August 26, Rabbi Yehuda Levin”

  1. Jay August 26, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    The Rabbi’s bizarre causality reminds me of the Reverends Falwell and Robertson in the immediate aftermath of 9/11, when both attributed the attacks to God’s wrath upon America due to our decadent embrace of gays and abortion. This ‘blame the victim’ mentality is profoundly unpatriotic and hateful and superstitious.

    The one advantage is that when they display their inner craziness so blatantly it tends to repel all but the already-deranged. I think many people vote for wacko right-wingers less out of malice than out of being misguided or misinformed.

    One way to think of it is a metaphor from the Wizard of Oz–“Ignore that man behind the curtain!” The public is Dorothy in this analogy, Oz is the right-wingers, and the curtain being pulled back is the full-on-crazy that the Rabbi is displaying in attributing the earthquake to God’s wrath.

    Wake up, Dorothy! What you’re seeing is not an aberration, but is the rotten truth that is usually hidden behind a curtain of reasonableness. When the veneer is stripped away, the ugly reality is revealed.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt August 27, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      Jay, I, too, immediately thought of the insane Falwell land Robertson when drafting the post. I love the Wizard of Oz reference!

  2. Jennifer Lockett August 26, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    I just watched an interview with this teacher tonight. A few things about this story strike me, one is that the ACLU stepped in. Good for them! I like the fact that the ACLU steps in whenever there is a question of someone’s Civil Liberties and Freedom of Speech.
    Another note, this teacher who posted that gay marriage makes him “want to vomit” on his Facebook wall could be read by his students – as he is FB friends with his students. Now, I’m not anti-FB friend with students (and am opposed to blanket social media bans), but if you are going to have your students have access to your FB wall then it needs to be a professional page – with your “teacher persona.”
    I also have a huge problem with him talking about God and Jesus in his syllabus and on the school webpage. It’s an intimidating message and promotes fear and anger in his children.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bigot of the Week Award: August 26, Rabbi Yehuda Levin (via The Solipsistic Me) « hohohosting - August 26, 2011

    […] These bigots are a bigger threat to humanity then earthquakes and hurricanes. What a sad week.  There was no shortage of bigots to be found.  I need to thank friend and fellow blogger, True Confessions of a Female Motorcyclist, for inspiring me to write about this week's BWA.  Apparently, the LGBT community is far more powerful than I even knew. I shall have to write the President of the Gay Agenda and let him know of our sup … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

