Jane Lynch and Visibility

19 Sep

Cheers to Jane Lynch

While it is true that we don’t watch much television in our home, we actually did try to watch the Emmys last night. What motivated us to watch the show was that Modern Family received many nominations (the one show we do watch every Wednesday) and that openly gay Jane Lynch was hosting.

I have loved Jane Lynch since she starred in the Christopher Guest mocumentary, Best in Show.  I also loved her in the unfortunately very short lived Love Spring International, which was brilliantly done. While hosting the Emmys, Lynch made reference to her being lesbian no less than three times.  This is a huge deal and I was exceedingly proud of her. Any other host of any other award show is always presumed to be heterosexual, regardless if this is an accurate presumption or not.  Lynch’s openly talking about herself and her wife increases the visibility of the LGBT community and says to the millions of viewers that we are here, we look like and act like the rest of the population of the world, which I hope makes it much more difficult to continue to marginalize us.

Points to Lynch for showing great social courage and integrity for not only hosting the Emmys but putting herself out there for all to see. I also had to tip my hat to Ms. Lynch for her wit and calling out the Teahaddists:

Yesterday, my daughter had a tea party with her little friends, and it was so cute. They complained about taxes, called Obama a Communist, and wondered how the Latina kid got in.

For me, that was probably the best part of the entire show. However, I do worry some that Lynch revealed secrets about the Gay Agenda on national television.

Not only did Lynch help to show the world that us LGBT folk are just like everyone else, well perhaps we are a bit better dressed and a bit more witty, but the fact that Modern Family, picked up so many awards also helps to show fear-based bigots that we cannot and will not be as easily marginalized as we once were.  In an interview after the Emmys, Ty Burell, who won Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy, said this:

…it feels very very good to be on a show that seems to be changing a lot of minds … it’s a great thing to peripherally go to events and talk to family and have people talk about the characters the same way they talk about other characters.

Julie Bowen, who won Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy, added:

To me, it’s absurd that it is an issue, but in that it is an issue, I’m glad that we’re helping to change minds.

These are the heterosexual allies we need!  Lynch and the cast of Modern Family help to show that LGBT people  really we are just like all other human beings.  We come in all shapes, sizes, ages, and colors, and religious backgrounds.

4 Responses to “Jane Lynch and Visibility”

  1. Michelle September 19, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    I did not watch the Emmy’s but I did see the recap on the news. Needless to say, I was ecstatic by Modern Family winning 5 categories. I wonder what the idiots who want Chaz of DWTS are thinking now! Yay Modern Family.

    Side note: Surprised you managed to stay up that late and watch the Emmy’s.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 19, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      Yes, we were excited to see the Modern Family win so many awards. Honestly, we only watched just a bit of the Emmys before we went to bed.

  2. stear1 September 20, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    Michael, I did not watch the show either as it did not represent Tosh.O. I do find Jane’s wit rather enjoyable and would love to go drinking with her (I don’t drink though). Tosh has somehow found a way to the 20-35 year old’s and has blurred the stereotypes by abusing them. I find this wonderfully satirical. As for the Agenda, I believe the minions have accomplished more than you give them credit for. But we’ll keep that secret.


    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 20, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

      Yes, I’ve always liked our Jane. I’m afraid I don’t know who Tosh. O is. I fear I’m a bit of a nerd. I do hope you will keep the “secrets” protected, or fear the wrath of the President of the G. A. 🙂

Leave a Reply

