Homosexuality Does Not Exist: Really?

29 Sep

Obvious that Harvey does not know any gay folk.

Thanks to my friend Jen Carey for inspiring me to write this article. Apparently I do not exist, according to Linda Harvey, the founder of the right wing hate group, Mission America.  I have lost a few pounds from riding my bike. Perhaps I’ve lost too much weight and have now become invisible? Yes, over 35 million people do not exist in the United States.  Candidly, I wonder how do people like Harvey start organizations like Mission America and how do they get followers?

According to Harvey:

There’s one big fact that’s not backed up. There is no proof that there’s ever anything like a gay, lesbian or bisexual or transgendered child, or teen or human. One of the other things you’re gonna see as I mentioned is a big campaign GLSEN’s gonna roll out this year calling for ‘respect,’ respect! Not just for people, but for homosexual lifestyle. The PR campaign to hold up gay as a good thing: the lifestyle, not the person, because there are no such humans.

Wow!  You know it takes a lot to make Michele Bachmann look sane, but I do believe our Harvey has managed to do so.

One wonders if our Harvey lives in a cave, in a tree, on a deserted island? I’m happy to introduce myself, so that Harvey can meet an actual living North American homosexual in my native habitat. I would be able to laugh this off, save that she has a significant following with her organization of hate.  I feel sorry for those that live in Columbus, Ohio and for the state in which I was born, for Mission America and John Bohener have permanently marred the state–that’s just a dirt that won’t come clean!  Judging from her makeup and hair style, I will admit she probably does not know any gay folk because we would not allow her in public with that hair.  Hmm, Michele Bachmann’s hair has been looking good lately, so I wonder who does her hair?  Perhaps her husband, Marcus?

8 Responses to “Homosexuality Does Not Exist: Really?”

  1. Jennifer Lockett September 29, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    I homosexuals don’t exist, does that mean you don’t have to pay taxes?

  2. Jay September 30, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    Apologies, but the number 35 million leaped off of my screen, unleashing my alter ego, the nerd super-villain Hopeless Quibbling Guy. HQG enjoys eating Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Areas for breakfast and is perhaps the least pleasant of all the nerd super-villains.

    Where did you get that number? According to Wikipedia, 11.7 million Americans are gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgendered. While I concede there is room for disagreement in estimations of this sort, HQG is convinced that choosing the very top end of a broad range of estimates is a sloppy practice that damages overall credibility.

    You are free to disagree, of course, but here is HQG’s source:


    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 30, 2011 at 5:39 am #

      Jay, I do have to respectfully disagree. As you know the numbers are significantly under reported because it is not safe for so many to identify as LGBT, specifically LGBT youth. I think accounting for 10% of the population of the United States is far more accurate, and believe under reporting “is sloppy practice” that does far more damage that prohibits visibility which makes it more difficult for people to identify as LGBT.

      • James Queale October 1, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

        I agree with you Michael, LGBT youth are not taken into account because bigots don’t believe that youth can “know” their sexuality. I knew mine at 14 and came out, but I fail to see studies that identify LGBT youth numbers. Then, like you said, many in America feel the need to still be closeted and don’t identify and in surveys could still be claiming to be straight. I think the 10% estimate is true. So many times the bigots will say, “Why do gays need rights? They are only 2%,” sometimes giving a much smaller percentage.

        On a side note about this story, I always wanted to have a super-power, I guess I never knew I already had one, invisibility! What a crazy woman!

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 1, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

        I know that just here in Oregon and southern Washington there are many schools that refuse to have a GSA and forcing students to be afraid of identifying.

  3. James Queale October 1, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    I am thankful that when I was in school, there were no problems with me being out. I wrote a short story about a gay couple in grade 11 and my teacher did not mind. In Child Studies in grade 12, my teacher taught about sexuality and openly expressed her view that being gay is something that people are born as. Fortunately, I lived in a time when gay marriage/rights were nationwide for about 2+ years. The only place I was afraid to come out was at home. I came out to friends at 14, but didn’t to my parents until I was 16 and that was accidental (ask me sometime if you want to know more on that). They were strict religious types. My father is a former pastor (again, I will elaborate sometime if you ask).

    I had gay teachers, an openly transgender person in our grade, and so on and zero fuss. Canada is not perfect by no means, but I must say, I am proud that I could be me. That is why I feel the need to fight here, because I know what freedom as a gay man can be like. I was lucky enough to have my rights by the time I graduated high school. I guess this is me paying it forward but in an international way.🙂

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 2, 2011 at 8:24 am #

      Jamie, you were so very fortunate and I’m so glad you shared this. Your experience was far different from mine.

Leave a Reply

