An Endorsement for Herman Cain (?)

1 Dec

What's Wrong with this Picture?

Well get my smelling salts! Another woman has come forward to report her relationship with Herman Cain.  Honestly, if the relationship was mutual, it is none of our business how many extra-marital affairs Cain has.  What is our business is the number of women he has sexually harassed and dismissed his behavior with his cavalier comment of, “why not focus on all the women I did not sexually harass?”

There are so many things that I really despise about Cain, his misogyny, his homophobia, his dismissal of the poor and disenfranchised, but I think I also am frustrated that he identifies with the aggressor.  He is a black man who works to re-enforce a white political power structure–what is that about?

I try to mitigate my anger about Cain by finding humor.  Jay Smooth, is a multi-racial man, with a white mother and black father, much like our President. Smooth’s mock endorsement of Cain helped me laugh.  I hope you will watch other videos by Smooth.  He does a great job of addressing race and power.  Click here to see the mock endorsement.

4 Responses to “An Endorsement for Herman Cain (?)”

  1. Jay December 1, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    I have two slight disagreements.

    First, I think political and economic beliefs are like religious beliefs in falling under the universal human right of “freedom of conscious.” I disagree with Cain on a whole range of issues, but I’ll defend his right to hold those views. I’m uncomfortable with the implication that an African American should be scolded as a kind of race traitor if he happens to have conservative beliefs.

    Second, I think consensual extramarital affairs can be relevant when evaluating a candidate. Not that I’m concerned about the adultery, but rather I’m concerned about a pattern of lies to the non-cheating spouse. If the Cains have an open marriage then I have no quibble, but if he was concealing his affair(s) from his wife that would make him a liar and a cheat. That in turn speaks to his character, which is a pertinent consideration for many voters.

    Note, these are just my opinions, and I don’t think if you are not swayed by my reasoning that you would be ‘wrong.’ These are both, to my way of thinking, hazy areas where reasonable people might disagree.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt December 1, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

      I can see your valid point around “a pattern of lies” regarding extramarital affairs. Regarding any marginalized population being scolded for being a current Republican, I’m afraid I have to respectfully disagree. If one is part of a marginalized population where there is no level playing field, one operates as the oppressor when representing the dominant power structure.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt December 1, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

        Oy! If I had a dime for every time I did a bad job of proof reading, I would be part of the 1%.

  2. Jay December 1, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Bad proof-reading. I meant “…freedom of CONSCIENCE.” While consciousness is a good thing, ‘freedom of conscious’ is not what I intended. Apologies for the error.

Leave a Reply

