Lead with Love: How to Support Your LGBT Child

11 Dec

Thank you to my friend Erin for inspiring me to write this article.

Regardless of how anyone feels about gay rights, even those that spew bigoted homophobic hate (all of the Republican Presidential Candidates), there is bound to be someone that looks like me in your family.  Yes, this may come as a shock, but it is the heterosexual population that keeps breeding us gays.

Over the course of the past year, I have heard from many parents (mostly moms) about what to do if “my child is gay?”  I’m happy to say that most of the private emails I have received through the blog are from parents who want to be supportive, with only a few from parents that want to learn how to “change” their child.

I was very fortunate to come across an amazing resource for parents.  Lead with Love is a documentary created to help and support parents:

Our goal is to provide comfort, information, and guidance for parents who have recently learned that their son or daughter is lesbian, gay, or bisexual. The film follows four families as they share their honest reactions to hearing that their child is gay, including the intense emotions, fears, and questions that it raised.

Click here for the amazing and powerful trailer.  I wish my parents had this documentary as a resource and I’m so grateful that current parents now have this resource to support and love their lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender child.  All we want is to be loved and treated equally. A huge way to combat homophobia and transphobia is to combat systematic and institutionalized misogyny.  Please click here to learn more about Lead with Love.

4 Responses to “Lead with Love: How to Support Your LGBT Child”

  1. nevercontrary December 11, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Great Post! I like For the Bible tells me so as well! I haven’t seen Lead with Love I will have to check it out!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt December 11, 2011 at 11:54 am #

      Thank you for the comment. I will have to check out “For the Bible Tells Me So.” Thank you again. I am now going to look at your blog.

  2. Angles of Secrets December 11, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Thank you for your beautiful blog post and for sharing the link to that inspiring movie. I’ll be passing it around myself.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt December 11, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      Thank you for the lovely comment and thank you for passing it along. I look forward to following your blog.

Leave a Reply

