Moment in Women’s History: Tallulah Bankhead

12 Dec

On December 12, 1968 the world lost an enigmatic and self-purported “wild” treasure.  Tallulah Bankhead died at the young age of 66.  Bankhead was quite famous for her deep, throaty, and evocative voice.  Some of my favorite quotes by Bankhead are:

I’m not at my best when I start to moralize or philosophize. Logic is elusive, especially to one who so rarely uses it…I’m as pure as the driven slush…If I had my life to live over again, I’d make the same mistakes, only sooner.

Bankhead was a woman who spoke her mind and worked to be her own person, living life on her terms–quite remarkable for a woman of her generation.

Yes, there were many rumors that Bankhead was bisexual and Bankhead herself helped to promote these rumors. She was a long standing Democrat and a supporter of liberal causes.  She actually worked on the campaign for FDR.  My hope is that Bankhead will inspire many future generations of women to live life on their own terms and not allow anyone to limit their potential.

2 Responses to “Moment in Women’s History: Tallulah Bankhead”

  1. Keri | December 19, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    I was just reading about her the other day! I read some of her quotes here: and her name made me immensely curious. She sounds like such a fascinating person; I would have loved to have gotten to know her!

Leave a Reply

