Growing Up Transgender: A Child Knows

15 Dec

Thank you to my friend and fierce LGBT ally, Jennifer Lockett for inspiring this story.  While I am cisgender, (my gender assigned at birth matches the gender I identify with) we have brothers and sisters all over the world who are transgender.  Just as I knew I was gay when I was five, although I did not have the language then, there are very young kids know their gender does not match what the doctor told them.

Jonas and Wyatt Maines were born identical twins, but Wyatt knew at age four that her gender did not match what the doctor assigned at birth.  Even Wyatt’s twin brother was aware that he had a sister, as he reported to his dad at age four, “Dad, you might as well face it,’’ Wayne recalls Jonas saying. “You have a son and a daughter.’’

While the parents of these two amazing kids have had a difficult but rewarding journey, I’m in awe of them and I applaud these parents for recognizing they have a beautiful son and a beautiful daughter.  Their children have courage and know who they are.  I have to underscore how important it is that children now have access to puberty blockers and hormone therapies, so that kids can go through puberty as the gender they identify as.

There is a wonderful organization called TransActive which specifically addresses the needs of transgender and gender non-conforming youth.  If you know a family struggling with the need for resources, I encourage you to contact TransActive. Click here to read more about Wyatt and Jonas.

4 Responses to “Growing Up Transgender: A Child Knows”

  1. Jennifer Lockett December 16, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    When I read this story, it was so touching to me and striking. I feel so much for the parents, who must have been terribly confused, uncertain, and lacking in guidance. How frightening as a parent. Still, they clearly loved their children and sought out the best for them.

    What a courageous brother and sister pair. I couldn’t imagine going through that type of torture in middle school.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt December 16, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

      They are wonderful parents. Knowing you as I do, you would be just as wonderful if you had a transgender child.

  2. frediric December 18, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    family very beautiful and very good mom good dad good🙂 good brothers :))) very good god you loves girls😉 good person good person :)))))) nice a very lucky🙂 ı’m such a thing could not tell my family😦 very lucky

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt December 19, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      Please be happy and live your life as the gender you know you are. There is a lot of support out there!

Leave a Reply

