What’s Up with Ohio: Whites Only?

19 Dec

Ohio leading the country backwards (?)

Thank you to my friend Jennifer Lockett for inspiring me to write this story.  So it is not bad enough that John Boehner is from Ohio and is the key bully in the misogynistic and homophobic House of Representatives, but now parts of Ohio have reverted back to the 1950’s.

I’m profoundly sad and disgusted to have to write this article in the wake of the Forbes article I wrote earlier.  Jamie Hein, of Cincinnati, Ohio, posted a Whites Only sign on the pool at the duplex where she is the landlord.  Hein tried to defend her racism by saying:

that she posted it because the girl used in her hair chemicals that would make the pool “cloudy”

What is more galling to me is that Hein is actually appealing the decision by the Hamilton County Courts.

I think what frightens me the most is that it is so painfully obvious that racism is alive and well in the United States.  I don’t want to judge Ohio too harshly, but they did elect John Boehner and it was a key swing state in the 2004 election that went to George W. Bush.  Click here to see the full article on the racist landlord.

4 Responses to “What’s Up with Ohio: Whites Only?”

  1. Jennifer Lockett December 19, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    One need only read the comments on the article to realize that racism is alive and well.

  2. nevercontrary December 19, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Oh my is she not aware of the amount of chemicals I put in my hair. I could turn her pool purple.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt December 19, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

      I love you for that comment! I, too, would ruin her lily white pool with all of the hair straitening chemicals I have to use.

Leave a Reply

