Closing Black History Month for 2012

29 Feb

My hope this year is that I have sufficiently proven how we still need to celebrate Black History Month in the United States; that racism is sadly alive and well and living in every state. Hopefully, TSM has celebrated many folks who have been relegated to corners of history and are rarely celebrated.  I have to confess what a pleasure it was to celebrate amazing black folk who dedicated their lives and continue to dedicate their lives to civil rights and social justice.

Some of my favorites this month (none will surprise the TSM audience) were: Nichelle Nichols — okay how cool is it that Dr. King told her to stay on Star Trek?  Ralph Bunche was another great article — a Nobel Peace Price winner and friend of Eleanor Roosevelt who worked tirelessly for civil rights.  I would like to see John Lewis of Georgia finally receive the Nobel Peace Prize for all of his work for civil rights!  Jacqueline Woodson, an out black lesbian writing books to make the world safer for all youth. I have to say I also fell in love with Alice Dunbar Nelson.  Honestly, I could go on and on here, for there are far too many black folk I want to see celebrated who are missing from American textbooks.

I hope you got the chance to learn about some new people and were able to rejoice in names you already recognized.  Chime in and let me know who were some of your favorites and tell me some people you would like me to add to the list.  I suppose one of the “take-aways” from this series is that until we see African-Americans being represented in all history books and American culture values Black History, we will continue to have the need for Black History Month.

6 Responses to “Closing Black History Month for 2012”

  1. Jeannie Ramsey February 29, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Danny Glover!
    He’s a great actor, and an especially busy activist for an impressive number of causes.

  2. nevercontrary February 29, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    What a beautiful month of tributes. I myself was in the school end of month black history month video. Not as influential seeing as I am not black, I don’t think, and I only said “It means change is possible”

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt March 1, 2012 at 6:39 am #

      Thank you for your optimism. Yes, change is possible, but I fear we have a long way to go yet. I see an entire population willing to vote for, what I would call, a fascist GOP candidate just to ensure that we don’t have a black president–that scares me.

      • nevercontrary March 1, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

        not as much as rush Limbaugh scares me.. i just shuddered at the thought of his existence.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt March 1, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

        You and I both!

Leave a Reply

