The Miss Universe Contest…

4 Apr

Thank you to my friend and fierce civil rights activist Nancy Meade for inspiring me to write this article. Not a big surprise to TSM readers, but I really am usually very against any type of beauty contest for myriad reasons.  I am particularly against the Miss Universe Contest because it is owned by the nefarious Donald Trump and his hair.  All of this being said, I have to emphatically support Jenna Talakova if she chooses to re-enter the contest.

Ms. Talakova came under unfair scrutiny because of her transgender status and was initially disqualified from the Miss Universe Contest, until yesterday when they decided she could compete.  Here is what is wrong with tolerance: it is based on “all that matters is my acceptance of you.”  It is tantamount to saying, “I don’t mind that you are black; I don’t mind that you are gay.”  This type of inequitable power structure serves to sustain and maintain a white heterosexual Christian male power structure.  Gender identity is a complex notion that many people seem to have trouble grappling with, even good intentioned people.  Ms. Talakova is a woman who wants to participate in the Ms. Universe Contest.

We still have so much education to do around gender identity and gender non-conformity.  If you or anyone you know needs resources, I strongly encourage you to contact TransActive.

12 Responses to “The Miss Universe Contest…”

  1. joesix April 4, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    The Miss Universe contest seems to be embroiled in controversy every year. I wouldn’t be surprised if Donald plans it that way for free advertising.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 4, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

      Trump is so narcissistic, I would not be surprised if he does create the underlying drama.

  2. Christine Noble April 4, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Man, if she gets far with this, it is so gonna be a needed kick in the gender binary’s gut.

  3. Jennifer Carey April 4, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    This is such a bizarre situation for me for a few reasons. One, I’m a big supporter of gender rights – including gender identity. However, i also *really* hate ‘beauty contests.’ One of my students today asked me why and I said “Because it celebrates and crowns the most superficial aspect of a human being, something they cannot control, that is fleeting and immaterial to their content as a person.” I saw some nods in agreement, and others just roll their eyes. Hey, if I were a teenager, I would likely want someone to celebrate my beauty. And if I were to be totally honest, as a grown woman I do as well. Still, I don’t want that to be my ‘crowning achievement.’ All that does is tell young women that they have an ‘expiration date.’

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 4, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      Amen, Jennifer! Beautifully said. My only interest is the civil rights perspective of who is allowed to enter the contest.

  4. nevercontrary April 4, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    Have you seen the south park episode about tolerance when Stan has a gay dog?

Leave a Reply

