Happy Administrative Professionals’ Week: What’s your tax bracket?

25 Apr

This is Administrative Professionals’ Week. Founded in 1952 as Secretaries’ Day by Mary Barrett, president of the National Secretaries Association (NSA) and C. King Woodbridge, president of Dictaphone, it was initially celebrated in June. Over the past 60 years it has undergone a number of changes in name and timing, but the principle is the same: Honor the workers without whose efforts the bosses and employers work would be impossible.

The celebration, now sponsored by the International Association of Administrative Professionals which grew out of the NSA, is particularly timely as the nation focuses on tax fairness. As billionaire investor and philanthropist Warren Buffett has observed, thanks to our bizarre tax codes those making the most money typically pay the lowest tax rates. His example (echoed recently by President Obama), was that his secretary paid a higher rate than he did, something Buffett, Obama and a significant number of wealthy Americans find unacceptable.

The inequity is compounded by the fact that women and minorities typically make lower relative wages, even for the same work. Paying a higher tax on that lower wage creates a greater income inequity and results in a vicious cycle of oppression. Of course Republicans in Congress, supported by Presidential Candidate and serial hypocrite Mitt Romney, see nothing wrong with this. Want to see what it looks like for you? Slate has created this handy calculator to show how long it would take Romney to earn your annual income; try it, then use this tool to compare your relative tax rate. If you aren’t outraged, you aren’t paying attention.

8 Responses to “Happy Administrative Professionals’ Week: What’s your tax bracket?”

  1. prideinmadness April 25, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    I’m too poor to pay taxes😦 Whenever I hear these rich folk talk about how many people don’t pay taxes and that, that’s the problem I want to shove my $380 biweekly pay check in their face and say “TELL ME HOW I’M SUPPOSED TO LIVE!” The answer is find another job but I’m not as in control of that as I would like. None of us are. Plus I am in a “feminine” field so I’ll never be paid as much as my partner who works in television.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 25, 2012 at 7:40 am #

      Great comment. Sad comment, but true. We still don’t value “women’s work” or women in the work force as we value men and “men’s work.”

      • prideinmadness April 25, 2012 at 7:58 am #

        Sometimes I get upset that I went into social work because it is so devalued but I have no idea what else I would do!!!😛

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 25, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

        We can’t give up the good fight!🙂

  2. nevercontrary April 25, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    I work with some wealthy republicans and I do enjoy hearing them complain about being discriminated against and having to pay more for things than everyone else. I sit quietly because I have learned not to provoke it will just make it worse.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 25, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      You are exceedingly patient and kind. I think I would spit up in my mouth if I had to hear that crap.

      • nevercontrary April 25, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

        My favorite is when I hear the words “Obama is the antichrist”
        Then I get up and walk away.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 25, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

        I would have to slap them bald!

Leave a Reply

