Remember to Breathe!

5 May

Sound advice

There were so many stories in the news this week that I could have easily devoured, for example, the guy who shot the “Vote Against Amendment 1” sign or the pastor who condoned beating your gay children until they are “straight.” But, I wanted to take a different approach this week.

People who are activists for social justice see the tragedy of freedoms taken daily, but do we ever get a moment to just breathe? That is what I want to discuss this week. I thought of this while I was watching the documentary series Planet Earth. As I watched I felt at ease as I saw all of the natural processes taking place. I was captivated watching moments like the Macaque monkeys running around and splashing in the water. It made me realize that there are so many things going on around me daily and it put my problems into perspective.

It is so easy to get caught up in the moment and get impassioned. But, it can be strenuous at times and we all need a break. I am not saying that we should take bigotry we see lightly and be lazy about our activism. I am merely saying that from time to time we need to take a moment and do something we enjoy, something that distracts us from our problems.

Remember to breathe!

Sage advice this week from TSM contributor James Queale. It applies on so many levels. As we’ve noted before, it’s always important to be your best self, especially in an online world, and that requires a deep breath and focused mind. Even so-called professionals in disseminating information can rush to judgment when a simple “I don’t know” would be best. Thank you, James for reminding us how important it is to stay fresh and care for ourselves so we can bring our best to improving our world.

10 Responses to “Remember to Breathe!”

  1. nevercontrary May 5, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    Thanks for the reminder.

  2. prideinmadness May 5, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    I breathe so much when i’m stressed I get light headed😛

  3. Christine Noble May 5, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    Thank you very much! It is easy to get caught up and let our frustration with the world’s injustices get the better of us. I’ll try to be mindful of this advice in the future.

  4. Nancy Campbell Mead May 5, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Thanks for the friendly reminder, Michael. I spent a couple of hours out in the yard pulling weeds today – good therapy! And, we had a good friend over for dinner last night. Both needed respites!

  5. newsofthetimes May 6, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    This is so important. We need to give ourselves and our partners in social justice efforts room to do just this so that we can be ready to fight another day. It does not good to get burned out – we need people who are able to engage in activism over the long haul! Thanks for the permission to take care of ourselves as well as the world around us,

  6. Patrick Harhai May 8, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    I find it hard to not worry all the time. Great post.

Leave a Reply

