Hero of the Week Award: May 11, President Obama

11 May

Hero of the Week

I must confess, Wednesday I found myself quite depressed because of the news about the bigots in North Carolina.  Fortunately, later in the afternoon, my friend and social justice super hero, Eva Hoffman grabbed my arm and told me President Obama just endorsed Marriage Equality.  I will tell you I broke down in tears of joy.  Never did I imagine that in my lifetime I would witness a U.S. President have the courage and integrity to push civil rights even further.

In an eloquent, clear statement during an interview with ABC news on Wednesday, President Barack Obama became the first sitting president to fully endorse marriage equality for LGBT Americans — something I never thought I would witness in my lifetime. There are those who try to diminish this statement as a cynical plot for votes. Or perhaps its no big deal because we all really knew how he felt and he just had to use the “evolving” smokescreen to find the right moment. Some even say it was a mistake, risking the mythical undecided independent swing state voters. All these claims miss the point.

Harry Truman once said, “When in doubt, do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest.” Given his “evolving” stance, the President has been in doubt. Wednesday, he did right. Let’s be clear, no civil rights issue articulated by a sitting president has failed to become national policy within a generation. That’s huge. Whatever the additional hurdles, whatever the setbacks (like North Carolina), however carefully constructed the declaration, the President weighed in on a critical issue of civil rights and made his opinion, likely to lead the direction of his party, clear.

Same-sex couples should be able to get married.

Thank you, Mr. President. Count me both astonished and gratified. Regardless of what happens, President Obama has sent the world a clear message regarding equality and civil rights.  He will now and forever be on the right side of history, unlike the lying bigot that is Mitt Romney.

Very honorable mention goes to two members of the Obama administration for their support of equality. Vice President Biden stumbled into the debate with his trademark speaking style, but made it clear he personally supported equality over the weekend. President Obama has even credited Biden’s interview as a catalyst for his statement. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan gets points for clarity. When asked on MSNBC’sMorning Joe if he thought same-sex couples should have the legal right to marry he said, without hesitation, “Yes, I do.” Nicely done, Mr. Secretary.

18 Responses to “Hero of the Week Award: May 11, President Obama”

  1. katybrandes May 11, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Hear, hear! Mr. Obama’s statement made at such a pivotal time surprised me greatly as well, and I’m happy to be re-assured we have a President with compassion and integrity.

  2. Didion May 11, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    Oh my god, I just cried and cried. I couldn’t believe it — Obama, who’s opposed gay marriage ever since I first heard of him in 2003, talks about changing his mind. And it seems as if this will change the dem. party platform. It’s so, so meaningful.

    My Facebook feed filled up with people complaining that his position is still tepid — but I see this as phenomenal. Still teary-eyed, actually.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 11, 2012 at 9:51 am #

      I, too, am still teary eyed. Obama is on the right side of history! He has now secured his legacy.

  3. prideinmadness May 11, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    And now he needs to do something!

  4. nevercontrary May 11, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    It was love at first sight for me and Mr. O. The first time I heard him speak in Chicago, I just knew he was one of a kind, home run, out of the ballpark, kind of man.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 11, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      I truly believe he is the best President we have had in my lifetime.

      • nevercontrary May 11, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

        And one day there will be an ever better one, can you even imagine.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 11, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

        I hope it happens in my lifetime! We have to hope the composition of the Supreme Court changes soon!

      • nevercontrary May 11, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

        I have faith it will.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 11, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

        I shall borrow your faith. I do have faith the west coast will be safe for the LGBT community, but I fear I have very little faith in the South!

      • nevercontrary May 11, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

        My entire school participated in the day of silence. If that is not progress I do not know what is. My religious school.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 11, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

        Wow! That is pretty cool!

  5. newsofthetimes May 11, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    Very eloquent post. I couldn’t agree more. Gobama!!! Thanks for the beautiful post.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 11, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

      Thank you for your comment! The eloquence lies with President Obama.

      • newsofthetimes May 11, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

        While the President’s actions were highly eloquent, I think your retelling of his actions was equally beautiful. And the response of the country added yet another layer of beauty. The ark of the universe is bending this week….

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 12, 2012 at 7:11 am #

        Wow! You are exceedingly kind. Thank you for your kindness. Yes, I really want to believe the ark of the universe is bending. 🙂


  1. Betty White Endorses President Obama | Fast Fails | The Best Fail Channels - May 15, 2012

    […] she publicly endorsed President Obama, saying: how she “very, very much favors” President Barack Obama in this election.  White went on to say how much she appreciates “how he represents […]

Leave a Reply

