Memorial Day and Remembering Whose Land We Are On…

28 May

I hope this post accomplishes at least two goals.  I worry we do not do nearly enough to support our brothers and sisters returning from duty; let us not forget that it was George W and the Republicans that wanted to cut funding for their benefits.  Secondly, I wanted to make it clear that this holiday is far more complex when you think about colonization and the Native American Holocaust.   I think the picture I have included says more than I could ever say, and it says it far more eloquently!

10 Responses to “Memorial Day and Remembering Whose Land We Are On…”

  1. Kathleen Saadat May 28, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    Thank you.
    whether or not I agree with the tactic of war, I do understand the gifts given by the men and women who go to war.
    On the issue of the land upon which we so comfortably live, I continue to challenge those who say “America is a nation of immigrants”. There were people here BEFORE there was an America. These people were slaughtered, their land taken to be worked by others brought here in shackles. You really have to stretch the definition of “immigrant” to include these people.
    We are all here now trying to make it better but we cannot make it better if “better” is based in a lie.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 28, 2012 at 9:34 am #

      Beautifully said! Yes, regardless of my feelings around war, I do believe we must care for those soldiers returning. I love your last line and believe it bears repeating: “We are all here now trying to make it better but we cannot make it better if “better” is based in a lie.”

  2. prideinmadness May 28, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    At SlutWalk they acknowledged what we were standing on Aboriginal land, they did that at my social work graduation as well. It’s beautiful.

  3. newfanglednative May 28, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    Michael…Thank you for posting this picture! You know me. I am all about Native American Social Justice! I hope all is well with you. It is nice to see you in the halls of the School of Social Work! I hope we can have another class together again. Your comments are very insightful and your passion is seen and felt!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 28, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

      You honor me. I just hope I do enough regarding social justice and I hope I do enough to honor First Nations people, such as your self.

  4. nevercontrary May 28, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    You know we should really include native american history and culture more into our country. They should at least get their own month. Maybe they already do and it is so under publicized I just do not know about it.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 28, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      I am often quite saddened how often I hear micro-aggressions against First Nations people.

  5. Jay May 28, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    A good tonic, when I’m feeling self-pity, is to consider the historical raw deal that Native Americans and African Americans, in particular, have inherited. Other groups can make legitimate claims of historical oppression, but those two ethnic groups are able to voluminously document particularly tragic histories.

    We’re all individuals, and experience our own personal triumphs and tragedies, but the deck is stacked in favor of some individuals and against others, as any thoughtful consideration of history should make clear.

    Those who callously argue “get over it!” are missing the point that history matters, and the reverberations of the past manifest themselves today, in ways both subtle and obvious.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 28, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      I cannot state it with more power and more elegance than you have here. You truly understand history and the intersections of oppression. I think you need to be a social worker.

Leave a Reply

