Fox Nooz Learned Me This Smartful

29 May

Just about this balanced…

Poor ol’ Faux News just can’t get no respect. Yet another study proves that people who rely on the propaganda network for their information actually know LESS than people who don’t get news from anywhere.

Respondents to the survey were able to answer correctly an average of 1.8 of 4 questions about international news and 1.6 out of 5 questions about domestic affairs. “Based on these results, people who don’t watch any news at all are expected to answer correctly on average 1.22 of the questions about domestic politics, just by guessing or relying on existing basic knowledge,” said Dan Cassino, the poll’s analyst.

People who rely solely on Fox barely got one question right — domestic or international — far below the average and even below random chance. That’s right, a monkey throwing darts at a list of answers would be more likely to be right than a Foxwatcher.

Of course, relying on a single source of news is a poor strategy in general, but for those who do, the best informed are those who rely on NPR. It’s also pretty sad that the average results had people getting fewer than half the questions right. We’re not exactly an informed nation, are we?

Given the history of inaccuracies, bias, and outright lies that Fox spouts, this isn’t a big surprise. Consider the company’s CEO, Roger Ailes, who called reporters for the New York Times “lying scum” at a speech to Ohio University’s journalism students. He also asserted “One thing that qualifies me to run a journalism organization is the fact that I don’t have a journalism degree.” Well that pretty much sums up how Fox works, doesn’t it?

16 Responses to “Fox Nooz Learned Me This Smartful”

  1. William May 29, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    Roger Ailes, the Master Mind behind GOP TV (a.k.a Fox News), was a media consultant for Richard Nixon, Ronald Reagan, and George H. W. Bush and we all know “Fair”, “Balanced” and “Informative” those administrations were.

  2. Christine Noble May 29, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    The really sad part, is many Fox News faithful would be proud of this little fact.

  3. prideinmadness May 29, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    When I was in Las Vegas I would watch Fox News and basically used it as comedy.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 29, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

      I envy you! I fear I am far too bitter a person to enjoy it as comedy.

      • prideinmadness May 30, 2012 at 6:06 am #

        Maybe if I was exposed to it daily and those idiotic ideas threatened my country then maybe it would be impossible to laugh at them. Not to say that I’m not horrified by what is going on in the USA. I literally went into a depression for a month when the birth control thing happened!

        We have SunTV. Which one of the news anchors has said to O’Reilly is “Fox News of the North” but I swear no one really watches it. They were at SlutWalk and my group and I kept walking away from them. Still, in comparison Canada’s right wing has always been fairly center in comparison to US right.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 30, 2012 at 6:51 am #

        Good analysis of where the center is in Canada and the US.

  4. nevercontrary May 29, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    I despise fox news. Someone needs to bitch slap them. My gym only showed fox news on the tvs. It made me so mad working out, that I would leave the gym more pissed then when I got there. Needless to say I quit the gym.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 29, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

      Bonnie, I’m proud of you for quitting that gym. Sadly, many public places only show Fox News, which I found profoundly disturbing–the great brain washing of America.

  5. Jay May 29, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    There is a kind of mad genius underlying Fox News. Much as I despise them, and as laughably false as their claims of being ‘fair and balanced’ demonstrably are, the fact is that they have managed to generate loads of profits for their parent corporation while advancing the ideological views of their primary owner, Rupert Murdoch.

    They also helped create the phenomenon of branded narrow-casting, which is likely to become more prevalent, not less, in the future. The future of media, especially news, is not in trying to appeal to a large and casual viewership and readership, but rather in targeting a smaller but much more fervent viewership and readership.

    This notion of reinforcing the existing biases of a segment of the population is particularly effective when the population being targeted is right-wing. Liberals are much more likely to want to give all side of a controversy a fair hearing than are conservatives, who generally prefer having their existing views reinforced rather than challenged.

    In classic liberal style, I will be genuinely fair and concede that this blog is an example of a left-wing echo chamber, in which the prevailing opinions of most of the readers are reinforced rather than challenged. The difference is that I wager most of the readers here spend significant time outside our ideological bubble, which is not the case for most fans of Faux Nooz.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 30, 2012 at 6:50 am #

      I don’t think my blog has ever been called an echo chamber–I’m not sure how to respond to that. You make a series of very good points, however, I do think they are after a significant market share. I have often reflected that Murdoch must have seen Network and rather than being mortified, he was inspired.

      In defense of my blog, I can only say I started in part to have a counter narrative, for I was feeling overwhelmed by Faux News and MSNBC and all the others that were adopting a Fox like platform.

      • Jay May 30, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

        My choice of words was perhaps unkind. I apologize if you think I misrepresented you or your blog.

        I think it is fair to observe that this is an opinion blog, with a rather clear and consistent ideological point-of-view (and most blogs are the same in being about commentary from a particular perspective).

        I think it is fair to observe that there are many more “thumbs-up, I agree!” sorts of comments in response to what is posted, rather than comments that argue for a different perspective. Again, I believe that is typical for most blogs, regardless of the ideology of the blogger.

        In short, this is a lefty blog, in my opinion, and I see strength rather than weakness in not only acknowledging that, but in embracing that. Again, I am sorry and intended no offense if you feel otherwise.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 30, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

        My Dear Jay,
        I can honestly say, I never suspect any malintent on your part. You made really good points and honestly, I was quite smug when you just said my blog was “a lefty blog” because it really is unapologetically leftist. Poor Robert has to live with me ranting and raving, so much that we can’t even watch a simple tv show:)

  6. Jay May 30, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    I wager that your ranting–or at least the passion and principles that motivate most of your ranting–is endearing rather than aggravating to your husband. He may sigh internally on occasion, but what happy marriage doesn’t include such small accommodations?

    And ‘echo-chamber’ truly was an impolite characterization on my part. You honestly do provide an educational and informational role with this blog–it isn’t all about the ranting. That most of your readers agree with you, and frequently express that agreement, is not a flaw, and it was catty of me to imply otherwise.

    One of my flaws is my over-eagerness to play devil’s advocate, which occasionally leads me to over-argue Satan’s point-of-the-view. It is my version of ranting, in a sense–when I call out someone that I agree with, my motivation is two-fold–I want to examine if we’re really correct, and if we are, I want to sharpen our argument. The problem is that it can come across as arguing to no good purpose, which is typically something one associates with jerks and assholes.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 31, 2012 at 9:27 am #

      I fear you are too harsh on yourself. Please know how much I enjoy your comments and there is always a need for a counter narrative, even if that narrative is playing devil’s advocate.

Leave a Reply

