Who Would Jesus Hate?

31 May

Thank you to my friend and LGBT ally, Jennifer Carey for inspiring me to write this story.  Can you imagine being suspended from high school for wearing a shirt that basically says Jesus was not a hater?  Well, such was the case in Ohio. Yes, the state that produced such homophobic, misogynistic bigots like John Boehner.  Maverick Couch, 16-year-old junior at Waynesville High School was told by his principal (not a principal that should be in any school) that if Couch continued to wear the shirt he would face suspension.

Fortunately, on May 21, U.S. District Judge Michael Barrett ordered school officials to allow Maverick to wear the T-shirt to school whenever he chooses. He also ordered the school district to pay $20,000 in damages and court costs to the teen.  Principal Randy Gebhardt cost the school district money and showed poor leadership with no integrity.

17 Responses to “Who Would Jesus Hate?”

  1. prideinmadness May 31, 2012 at 7:15 am #

    My partner and I were talking about Jesus and homophobia yesterday. My Jesus or whoever is a really nice person and I plan on having a long chat with him/her/it/them because I don’t think any of this is fair!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 31, 2012 at 7:39 am #

      Let me know how your chat goes:)

      • prideinmadness May 31, 2012 at 7:54 am #

        Oh I will. According to what people are telling me he’s going to do to me I don’t think he’s being fair at all!😛

  2. William May 31, 2012 at 8:07 am #

    They say Jesus had his “moment of doubt” before going through with his self-sacrifice

    If he follows the news, I’m pretty sure he’s re-thinking that last decision on a regular basis.

    If there is Heaven and he’s up there, I really hope somebody stops and gives him a hug now and again and tells him “You did the best ya could, but ya can’t shine sh*t son”

  3. James Queale May 31, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    I’m glad that he won. After all there is the 1st Amendment and it is not like the shirt was advocating violence or anything, it was advocating peace. An awful concept indeed.

    When it comes to Jesus, I am of course skeptical. I doubt his spiritual form, but perhaps he truly was a human who believed he was the son of God or perhaps he was a nice guy who was later given a mythical story?

    As many scholars have pointed out, it is difficult to know what Jesus truly said, because many of his words (which the bible highlights in red) are thought to not be authentic. And then there is the problem of inserting text in later and so on.

    I am not a fan of the Old Testament God because he clearly had some anger issues, but Jesus of the New Testament, for the most part, seemed like a progressive guy. There were a couple verses that were not so great like, “You must hate your family to follow me,” but again, was that the thoughts of the author or truly the word of Christ?

    Anyway, cheers to the kid who won his case!🙂

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 31, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

      You bring up many good points. My own thoughts are that regardless of how I feel about religion or Jesus, I hope and want to build coalitions regardless of people’s beliefs around religion.

      • James Queale May 31, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

        I am the same as you. I want to build a strong society of tolerance and acceptance, regardless of race, sexuality, gender identity, religion, etc.

        Though, I will speak up if someone’s beliefs are infringing on people’s freedoms. It can be difficult at times because when I or others try and combat the more fundamental believers, the more “liberal” ones tend to take offence, which enables the strict believers. It’s a tough balancing act, because I don’t want to offend our allies, but it is hard for me not to call bulls*** when I see/hear it.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt May 31, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

        Well said, Jamie!

  4. Christine Noble May 31, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    Young Mr. Couch is to be commended for being a lot more observant of his faith than a great many of his elders.

  5. Labyrinth-Living May 31, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    The Jesus I know didn’t hate anybody, but he sure didn’t like the Pharisees, the religious bigots of his time.

  6. mike/ May 31, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    i think everyone could agree on something i’ve believed & said for a very long time: if Jesus were alive today, the last thing he’d want to be is a christian…

  7. nevercontrary May 31, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    I am truly blessed to be working a the school that teaches to love everyone and that God loves everyone. The episcopal church has some amazing schools.

Leave a Reply

