28 Aug

The GOP Owns Your Vagina

Thank you to my friend JoAnna, a fierce advocate for oppressed voices, for inspiring me to write this article. Now that the Republican Platform includes Akin’s “Legitimate Rape” and the repeal of all rights gained by the LGBT community, Tom Smith (R), Senate Candidate from Pennsylvania, is just following his party’s platform when he adds his comments to the overwhelmingly misogynistic tea (Kool Aid). As reported in the Huffington Post, he believes:

Rape is like having a baby out of wedlock… although he condemns Akin’s comment, he agrees with Akin that abortion should be banned without any exceptions, including for rape and incest victims.

How is that disagreeing with Akin? He has been hanging around Romney and Ryan for too long.

I simply do not understand how any woman could vote Republican right now.  The party platform says specifically that they are going to try and overturn Roe v. Wade with their “personhood” amendment.  That “Rape is just like having a child out of wedlock,” “that women can’t get pregnant because of a ‘legitimate’ rape.”   How is this not a War on Women?

I would also beg the question as to how could any self respecting LGBTQ person vote Republican when it is now part of their platform and Romney signed a pledge to:

  • Support and send to the states a federal marriage amendment defining marriage as one man and one woman,
  • Defend DOMA in court,
  • Appoint judges and an attorney general who will respect the original meaning of the Constitution,
  • Appoint a presidential commission to investigate harassment of traditional marriage supporters,
  • Support legislation that would return to the people of D.C. their right to vote for marriage.
  • Repeal all rights gained by the LGBTQ community.

Don’t fear, homos! My friend Jodi Sisson just notified me that Todd (I can’t even spell biology )Akin has hope for you: breast milk cures homosexuality! There’s some science for you.

They may call this the Republican Party, but let’s face it, this is a Fascist Party serving up some noxious tea. Their leadership is the greatest supporting argument for birth control I can think of.

My suggestion for all of these white purportedly heterosexual men wanting full control of every vagina in the land–get castrated!

10 Responses to “Rape”

  1. Tom McCollin August 28, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Rape is a horrible thing, whether for females or males that have suffered through the physical and emotional abuse of this cowardly crime! And perhaps it is accurate about breast milk curing homosexuality, I never was breast fed. Now I know what’s wrong with me.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt August 28, 2012 at 11:29 am #

      I was breast fed and you can see well it solved my homosexuality. I am absolutely astonished at the pure hatred of women coming from the Republicans right now!

  2. Tom McCollin August 28, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Jamie said he wasn’t breast fed either. He is so upset, he is going to call his mom and blame her.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt August 28, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

      Thank you! I so needed a good laugh right now! This whole election stuff is really getting to me personally. These are some scary times.

  3. Tom McCollin August 28, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    I have learned to laugh at a lot of this type of news. It helps!

  4. nevercontrary August 28, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    I was breast fed. Hmmm.. wonder what went wrong. It must have been all those frilly dresses I made my mom buy me. No on second thought it must have been the secret lesbians sending me subliminal messages through the tv.

  5. Kathleen Saadat September 1, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    There are men who think of rape as an uncomfortable sexual encounter for the women and an inappropriate but understandable behavior on the part of men. Steven Stoltenburg described the rape culture in which we live in his book REFUSING TO BE A MAN. I highly recommend it if you can find it. Rape leaves permanent scars! It is not just an uncomfortable roll in the hay. Rape damages, body and spirit. Men need to be more public in their opposition to the abuse, sexual and otherwise, of women and children… this might encourage them to extend that thinking to how they treat all other people and the very planet that nurtures all of us.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 2, 2012 at 11:54 am #


      What a very insightful and much needed comment regarding the culture of rape and what I would call our ideas around masculinity. Yes, I strongly agree there needs to be louder and stronger men that need to be more public and use our collective and individual voices in opposition to such outrageous misogyny.

Leave a Reply

