Hero of the Week Award: September 7, Michelle Obama

7 Sep

Hero of the Week

First Lady Michelle Obama has been celebrated before on TSM and it is such sheer pleasure to celebrate her again.  Her opening night speech at the DNC was nothing less than phenomenal!  She is amazingly candid and authentic.  This is not a Stepford Wife.  Our First Lady is her own woman who loves her family and loves her country.  Her candor allows us to see how human she is and that she is a spitfire,which I love. Her speech leaves us all inspired and hopeful.  Michelle Obama’s speech is being hailed as one of the best convention speeches delivered in the Modern Era.

While, yes, I did cry while hearing her speech (she actually made me proud to be an American), I was also in awe of her ability to really reach all Americans and all families — the poor, the middle class, black, white, multi-racial, gay, straight, Jews, Latino, veterans — she spoke to America and the very rich and complicated fabric of people who make up this country.  At no time did she “other” (marginalize) any population.  Her inclusion of speaking to all Americans speaks to making the entire country feeling safe — that no one will be scapegoated.  Her simply mentioning decency, dignity, and integrity and “how we need to value everyone’s contributions,” easily starts the water works for me.

I need to add that she wrote her own speech and declined to accept the speech written for her.  Yes, she wrote:

Being President does not change who you are; it reveals who you are.

For me the choice is quite easy. I will vote for President Obama because he is truly working for and representing ALL Americans. He has not vowed to take away my rights as a gay man, nor will he repeal the rights of women, or protect only the wealthiest of Americans.  President Obama is truly working for all of us.

If you have not seen First Lady Michelle Obama’s speech, click here to see it.

14 Responses to “Hero of the Week Award: September 7, Michelle Obama”

  1. prideinmadness September 7, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    I like her speech more than Anne Romney’s. Anne’s was like a bio of her life whereas Michelle linked Obama as a man to his policies.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 7, 2012 at 8:39 am #

      And just a little point of interest, Anne’s speech was written on a 3rd grade level. Michelle Obama’s was written on a 10th grade level.

      • prideinmadness September 7, 2012 at 8:47 am #

        Yes I heard people saying that lol I’d rather Anne be herself then pretend :p

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 7, 2012 at 9:14 am #

        I fear that may be all there is to sad Anne.

  2. Didion September 7, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Aww. Let me also say that when she introduced Barack, kissed him — and then straightened his tie a little — I got yet another glimpse of what makes them such a dynamite public couple. They’re partners; they seem genuinely jazzed by each other; they’re *both* smart and oriented to their daughters and capable of holding a crowd in their hands. Fantastic piece, Michael.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 7, 2012 at 9:16 am #

      Thank you, Didion. I have heard from many sources that this appears to be one of the very first couples in the White House that are obviously very much in love. NPR also did a story of their love relationship about 8 months ago.

  3. Tom McCollin September 7, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    I, as you Michael, after hearing this lady’s speech (which I did not know she wrote her own words to, which makes it even better) made me so proud to be a citizen of this country. Even though there are times I have wondered, After hearing this, it leaves no doubts at all. Michelle spoke to as, Ann spoke at us about her “real marriage”.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 7, 2012 at 10:07 am #

      Lovely observation, Tom! Yes, Anne spoke at us with her speech written at a third grade level.

  4. Tom McCollin September 7, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Hearing Anne Romney reminds me of Pee Wee Herman saying “I know you are but what am I?”

  5. madeline knox September 7, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    I love this because you hit the nail on the head. She was not pandering to any particular group in a way that made you feel like a “sub group” in america I felt like I was part of this country not black, not a woman, but just american.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 7, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      I so wish you would run for public office. I just love you and think you are so wonderful.

  6. James Queale September 8, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    I loved Michelle Obama’s speech, so full of life! It gave me a sense of renewal like rain. Pres. Obama has had his moments of disappointing decisions, but I feel a new sense of optimism that his second term will be much stronger. We can only hope that people vote more Dems. into the House, replacing the TeaBag nutjobs.

Leave a Reply

