Making the World Better

29 Oct

As election day grows ever nearer and as I challenge myself daily on the issue, I am charging everyone with the task of reflection. We must each ask ourselves: “What are we doing to make the world a better place for all?”  I suspect many TSM readers fail at this task as often as I do, or perhaps I fail more often than TSM readers.

I have been reflecting a great deal of what life was like in the very early 1970s and how the civil rights movement, the women’s movement, the Black Panthers, Gay Liberation, and the American Indian Movement all collectively helped to challenge a dominant white heterosexual discourse, helping marginalized voices to gain strength, visibility, and respect. I will also admit that watching old episodes of Maude and the Sonny and Cher Show helped spark this reflection.  The United States seems to have dropped the conversation of what am I doing for my country and what am I doing to heal the world.

As people are getting ready to cast their ballots on November 6, 2012, I would ask that each person reflect on the following issues: Am I working to ensure that women get the health care they need and not blaming them for being raped? Am I part of the conversation to end racism, or does my silence implicate me? Do I stand with LGBT brothers and sisters for equality, or am I working to deny my fellow human beings basic civil rights? Do I take the time to address issues of poverty and work to create policies that create a level playing field, or do I subscribe to the very false notion that people need to pull them selves up by their boot straps?

I encourage Americans to think about how do we heal a nation so divided while also thinking about how do we help all of our brothers and sisters.

10 Responses to “Making the World Better”

  1. Jani October 29, 2012 at 7:14 am #

    Hear, hear.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 29, 2012 at 7:16 am #

      Social Workers taking over the world! I do hope this article might inspire to change the way they may vote and to reflect on how they contribute to society as a whole.

      • Jani October 29, 2012 at 8:15 am #

        Even if it only affects one, you have been successful🙂

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 29, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

        Thank you, Jani. I am certain that most of us are never certain if we are making a difference.

  2. Kathleen October 29, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Michael, you do a lot just by maintaining this blog. YOU keep ideas alive and floating in the dynamic pool (or puddle) of progressive thinking. I thank you for this. We seem to be encouraged to passivity by the idea that someone else: “will take care of it”, “save us from it”, is “in charge of it”. We don’t get “it” that the “it” is the environment in which we live our lives, where we sleep, what we eat, what we wear etc. and most importantly how we relate to one another. We must resist beingt passive racists, sexists, heterosexist, agist… (expand the list) and become active participants in creating the environment in which we want to live. Happy Monday

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 29, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      Dear heart, you inspire so many. I hope I will reach as many hearts as you do. I’m grateful to be in solidarity with marginalized communities and know that my solidarity means my commitment to standing by and supporting all of our brothers and sisters. With great love, Michael.

  3. nevercontrary October 29, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    If only this was the thing America was known for. Can imagine that country.

  4. momshieb October 29, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Well said, Michael! A timely reminder for all of us.

Leave a Reply

