Closing Black History Month 2013

28 Feb

Black-History-Month-20131-e1361831330607My hope this year, as it is every year, is that I have sufficiently proven how we still need to celebrate Black History Month in the United States; that racism is sadly alive and well and living in every state. Hopefully, TSM has celebrated many folks who have been relegated to corners of history and are rarely celebrated.  I have to confess what a pleasure it was to celebrate so many African Americans who dedicated their lives and continue to dedicate their lives to civil rights and social justice.

Some of my favorites this month (none will surprise the TSM audience) were:Martha Wash — talk about a true example of working for civil rights and social justice?  Gordon Parks was another great article — I hope he becomes integrated into history books. As we can see there are too many African American voices who are missing from American textbooks.

The most personal and the most painful life to celebrate for Black History month, was Bonnie Sanders.  I so want her to have her place in history.  I love and miss  her so very much.

I hope you got the chance to learn about some new people and were able to rejoice in names you already recognized.  Chime in and let me know who were some of your favorites and tell me some people you would like me to add to the list.  I suppose one of the “take-aways” from this series is that until we see African-Americans being represented in all history books and American culture values Black History, we will continue to have the need for Black History Month.

6 Responses to “Closing Black History Month 2013”

  1. Ruth Inniss February 28, 2013 at 8:46 am #

    Thanks so much for this acknowledgment. I really appreciate it, for an artist with such a fabulous voice and wonderful new cd with a message, it has been very challenging to obtain Publicity, mostly tv. Have a good day and great weekend. Ruth G. Inniss, Publicity & Consulting, Inc. Date: Thu, 28 Feb 2013 15:55:19 +0000 To:

  2. Christine Noble February 28, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    As always I find your work educational and inspirational dear. Keep up the good work.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 28, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

      Thank you, Christine! As always, I truly appreciate your support, passion, and interest in social justice.

  3. villagerambler February 28, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

    Thanks for such an enlightening and inspirational series of posts, Michael. I have already started reading more on the wonderful Gordon Parks, thanks to your post. You may have written about all or some of these people before, but I have always admired Arthur Ashe (I loved his beautiful memoir “Days of Grace’), Paul Robeson and Roscoe Lee Browne. Robeson in particular impressed me, as he also had to overcome political oppression.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 28, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

      As always, thank you for the kind and thoughtful comments. I’m thrilled that you are reading more about Parks. Thank you also for nominating several very worthy people for next year’s list of folk to celebrate.


  1. Closing Black History Month 2013 | The Solipsistic Me | Central Oregon Coast NOW - February 28, 2013

    […] Closing Black History Month 2013 | The Solipsistic Me. […]

Leave a Reply

