Arlene’s Flower Shop of Hate…

15 Apr
I love Jesus, but I'm against civil rights.

I love Jesus, but I’m against civil rights.

The State of Washington has filed a lawsuit against Barronelle Stutzman, the owner of Arlene’s Flower Shop for unlawful discrimination. Stutzman, who was perfectly happy to have a gay couple as customers for years, declined to provide flowers for their wedding.  Washington Attorney General Bob Ferguson said:

…it is my job to enforce the laws of the state of Washington. Under the Consumer Protection Act, it is unlawful to discriminate against customers based on sexual orientation.  If a business provides a product or service to opposite-sex couples for their weddings, then it must provide same sex couples the same product or service.

Stutzman has stated that she is not homophobic and that she has gay friends and gay employees, but she cannot do a “gay wedding because of her relationship with Jesus Christ.”  I guess, Jesus says it is okay to take money from gay folk up until they want equal rights for marriage — I’m not sure what book in the bible says that, but I’m sure it must be in there somewhere.  I also always love the reply, “but some of my best friends are (fill in the appropriate targeted/marginalized population).  If Stutzman really does have gay employees, I hope they are able to escape and work someplace else.

Now the rather sticky issue of the law.  While the law most certainly does provide for freedom of religion, the other part (usually and most conveniently forgotten) is that religion may not preclude people’s civil rights in the public sphere.  Stutzman’s religion also used to reject miscegenation. Does this mean she can reject an interracial marriage?  No one is asking Frau Stutzman to abandon her relationship with Jesus.  We are asking that she respect the law and allow civil rights for all humans — I guess that idea of civil rights has not reached her Jesus yet.

16 Responses to “Arlene’s Flower Shop of Hate…”

  1. Rich McIntyre April 15, 2013 at 8:56 am #

    As a Christian it really bothers me when people evoke this nonsense about Christian values to justify discrimination and hate. I guess at one time Jesus was against interracial marriage as well………..thankfully he got over it!!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 15, 2013 at 8:58 am #

      Thank you, Rich! I wish more Christians, like you, would have their individual and collective voices heard. Thank you for being such a wonderful ally and standing in solidarity!

  2. Jennifer Carey April 15, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    As Jesus says about homosexuality in the Bible: “….”

  3. prideinmadness April 15, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    Not homophobic and has gay friends but won’t do the flowers for a gay couple’s wedding…..because of Jesus…..I wonder how quickly she’ll lose business?

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 15, 2013 at 9:27 am #

      I have to confess, I do hope she does lose her business after this. I have to believe there are plenty of LGBT florist out there that would be happy to have the business.

  4. Will S. April 15, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    Based on how the folks in Colorado treated Jack Phillips, I hope your state is a lot less homophobe-friendly than mine.

    And I have to wonder… Considering that they’re not married to one another, wouldn’t her relationship with Jesus be adulterous? And, considering that Jesus is his own dad and everything, would it be incest, too?

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 15, 2013 at 11:17 am #

      Will, thank you for the comment, the link, and creating a space for me to laugh! I will abstain from any comment on her adulterous relationship with Jesus, but I sure do want to say something. 🙂

  5. dykewriter April 15, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    if you do business

    you do not get to cherry pick from the public

    this is NOT a hard concept

    personal beliefs are for you on your time

    not on work time, even when you are the boss.


    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 15, 2013 at 11:21 am #

      Nina, beautifully said!

      • dykewriter April 15, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

        I think the hardest thing for me to understand as a cultural difference between America and Canada

        is why American’s don’t understand

        you get to be on on your time

        when you are at work

        you are renting your time and your professionalism


        I have to wonder ……

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 15, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

        I wonder more about the hypocrisy in the United States of those claiming to be christians and yet support amazing racism, homophobia, and other nefarious forms of bigotry.

      • dykewriter April 15, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

        ummmmmmm that’s kinda what saying you’re in a special club is all about

        excluding others

        recruiting by the sword or the word that instructs in said sword use

        this is why I prefer the ones that you have to be born to. they don’t generally bother other people

        it’s the ones who recruit

        which is why they keep accusing us

        it’s easier to change a person’s belief than their orientation

        and it seems like the stronger they claim belief, the more they are to be caught with a live boy

        than a dead/live girl

  6. momshieb April 15, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

    Aw, her stupid flowers are probably full of bees anyway.
    I just wish, just ONCE, that Jesus would come down from the clouds and proclaim:
    “I NEVER said that!”


  1. Arlene’s Flower Shop of Hate… | Social Justice For All | Central Oregon Coast NOW - April 15, 2013

    […] Arlene’s Flower Shop of Hate… | Social Justice For All. […]

Leave a Reply

