LGBT History Month 2013: Miriam Margolyes

10 Jun

Miriam-MargolyesToday it is my pleasure to honor Miriam Margolyes during LGBT History Month.  I did not know our Miriam identified as lesbian until I saw her on the Graham Norton show with

I have been in love with Miriam Margolyes for decades now.  Some of her most notable movie roles for me have been: Mrs. Beetle in Cold Comfort Farm, a cult classic that I highly recommend; Aunt Sponge in James and the Giant Peach; Professor Sprout in the Harry Potter Series; and Gertrude Stein in Modigliani.  Of course, I have to acknowledge how wonderful it was to learn that Dumbledore from Harry Potter was gay.

Margolyes recalls coming out to her mother. “I really came to terms with things in 1967. I was in my late 20s. I spoke to her about an affair with a woman and three days later she had this stroke,” she reported four years ago to BBC Radio 4’s Desert Island Discs.  She came out much more publicly and casually on the Graham Norton Show in 2012.  I want to say a huge thank you to Miriam Margolyes for coming and being visible.  Her celebrity and visibility help the world understand that we LGBT folk are everywhere!

Margolyes talks at length about “wanting to make a difference in the world in her lifetime,” and she most certainly is.  Not only is she entertaining us all, but she is making a huge difference by being an out lesbian. After outing herself on Graham Norton, she added that by being visible, “…it gives one courage.”  Here she is on Graham Norton. Earthy, charming, and outspoken, she’s happy discussing her health regimen or correcting someone’s grammar while all the time being honest and delightful.

11 Responses to “LGBT History Month 2013: Miriam Margolyes”

  1. dykewriter June 10, 2013 at 6:24 am #

    Reblogged this on dyke writer.

  2. Central Oregon Coast NOW June 10, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    Reblogged this on Central Oregon Coast NOW.

  3. villagerambler June 10, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    Love Miriam! Have seen her twice on Graham’s show now. Both times she was incredibly funny. She was in New Zealand recently for her one woman show “Dickens’ Women”. Unfortunately I didn’t get to the show but it was very well received. For all her great work, I will always remember her unforgettable appearance in the second series of Blackadder, as the formidable Lady Whiteadder. A Puritan powerhouse!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 10, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

      I love that you and many of us are celebrating our Miriam today! Thank you for the comments.

    • villagerambler June 10, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      A lovely lady. Just in case it wasn’t clear, I meant Lady Whiteadder was a puritan powerhouse, not Miriam!🙂

  4. Miriam Margolyes June 12, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

    Terribly thrilled to be honoured, which I don’t deserve. One is gay or one isn’t it seems to me. But most importantly-please spell my name correctly: it’s MARGOLYES. Good wishes to all, I am on holiday in Italy, in Tuscany & it’s Paradise. MM

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 13, 2013 at 6:15 am #

      Dear Miriam, Wow! I am so honored that you commented here on my blog. While I so appreciate your very authentic modesty, you MOST certainly deserve to be honored for the strength of your convictions and for being visible. I am embarrassed that I misspelled your name within the story and have corrected it. With great love and affection,, Michael

Leave a Reply

