Bigot of the Week, September 27: Guido Barilla

27 Sep
The Homophobic Pasta

The Homophobic Pasta

Thank you again to fierce LGBT ally and my friend, Jennifer Carey for inspiring me to write this article.  I must confess, I don’t  particularly enjoy writing the Bigot of the Week articles, for they sit heavy on my heart. Sadly, I feel I must write them to expose where and when people are being oppressed.  This week, Guido Barilla, the CEO of Barilla pasta engaged in oppressing the LGBT community.

In an interview Barilla did explaining why he would never use gay people in his commercials, Barilla said:

I would never do a commercial with a homosexual family, not for lack of respect but because we don’t agree with them. Ours is a classic family where the woman plays a fundamental role…if the gays do not agree, they can always eat pasta from another manufacturer.

Wow! Where does one start to unpack this?  Shall we start with the definition of a family? Clearly, Barilla is getting his definition from Dan Quayle from 1992.  Barillia’s comments are full of misogyny, hypocrisy, homophobia, classism, and just plain old ignorance. For those who are under the assumption that the LGBT community is now safe and can rest easy, please know these comments from people in power are so hurtful and harmful to all of us — all members of the human family.  Barilla and other homophobes send the message that human beings can easily be discarded if they do not fit into the boxes prescribed by the dominant culture — a white, male, heterosexual, Christian paradigm.

Sadly, McDonald’s is implicated in this homophobic attack. My hope is that McDonald’s will discontinue its partnership with Barilla pasta.  I also hope that the LGBT community and all of our allies will stand in solidarity and boycott Barilla pasta. When did hate become a family value?

Another call to action: If you already have Barilla products in your home, you can either return them to your grocer and explain why you are returning the product, or donate it to your local food bank.

25 Responses to “Bigot of the Week, September 27: Guido Barilla”

  1. Dr. Rex September 27, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    Reblog: http://hrexach.wordpress.com/

  2. Dr. Rex September 27, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Good thing I don’t buy Barilla products!! Now, the guy is offering excuses. Not acceptable ….. Keep your product!!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 27, 2013 at 8:22 am #

      Dr. Rex, thank you for reblogging this article. Yes, I don’t buy his excuses! Another call to action is: if you already have Barilla products in your home, you can either return them to your grocer and explain why you are returning the product, or donate it to your local food bank.

      • Dr. Rex September 27, 2013 at 8:23 am #

        Good to know. No Barilla for my family!!!
        Bigot … will come to bite him in his arse!!

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 27, 2013 at 8:25 am #

        I hope you are right! I hope a boycott will hold him responsible and be an opportunity for education for him.

      • Dr. Rex September 27, 2013 at 10:59 am #

        Agree!! No wonders … but there definitely is Karma … we might not even find out!

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 27, 2013 at 11:19 am #

        Yes! I do believe in Karma.

  3. Jueseppi B. September 27, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  4. Renchick September 27, 2013 at 8:44 am #

    So glad Jueseppi reblogged your post and introduced me to your blog – I look forward to reading future posts!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 27, 2013 at 8:46 am #

      Thank you. I’m glad you found me and I thank Jueseppi for sharing my blog. We must all stand united in our quest for social justice. I’m glad you are on this journey with us.

  5. Lindsay September 27, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    Reblogged this on One Blue Stocking.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 27, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      Lindsay, thank you for reblogging this article.

      • Lindsay September 27, 2013 at 9:11 am #

        You’re very welcome! Thanks for writing it. What a disappointing interview from Barilla!

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 27, 2013 at 9:37 am #

        Subsequent to the interview, Barilla has just made an apology, which I do not wholly embrace. He reports to be in favor of marriage equality, but even if this is true, it does not address his misogynistic comments.

  6. tamaseavey September 27, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    Michael, I love this part of your blogs – even though I understand why the Bigot of the Week wears on your heart. I must confess that I have a very long list from my area that I’d love to send you that unfortunately would keep you writing for years. No Barilla in my house until I see a lovely, warm commercial showing a gay couple making great pasta and feeding their children! I see from your post that Guido apologized. The proof is in the pudding. Let’s see a brand new commercial supporting marriage equality and then I’ll resume buying his products. Seriously, how long did it take General Mills to do a commercial showing an interracial couple and biracial child. Just who gets to define the family picture??

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 27, 2013 at 11:13 am #

      Tama, you are truly a wonderful treasure! I love your solidarity, for we need all of the good energy from our heterosexual allies. I also love that you really get and address the intersections of oppression.

  7. Jennifer Carey September 27, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    So… can lesbians be in his commercial? I’m confused by his reasoning…

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 27, 2013 at 11:18 am #

      Jennifer, exactly. The many layers of misogyny are pretty reprehensible, aside from the homophobia.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 27, 2013 at 11:18 am #

      Jennifer, exactly. The many layers of misogyny are pretty reprehensible, aside from the homophobia.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 27, 2013 at 11:18 am #

      Jennifer, exactly. The many layers of misogyny are pretty reprehensible, aside from the homophobia.

  8. Central Oregon Coast NOW September 27, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

    Reblogged this on Central Oregon Coast NOW.

Leave a Reply

