Hero of the Week Award, September 27: Cassidy Lynn Campbell

27 Sep
Hero of the Week

Hero of the Week

Thank you to my dear friend and LGBT ally Jennifer Carey for inspiring me to write this article. Cassidy Lynn Campbell, a 16-year-old student at Marina High School in Huntington Beach, CA, was named homecoming queen last Friday. The remarkable thing about this everyday occurrence is that Campbell is transgender. She is the first known transgender homecoming queen at a U.S. high school.  Brava, Cassidy!

Campbell began taking hormone blockers and estrogen injections in high school to transition and has documented her journey in videos on her YouTube channel, LanceMize. As she started this school year, she decided to stand up for the transgender community and run for queen.

If I win it would mean that the school recognizes me as the gender I always felt I was. But with all the attention, I realized it’s bigger than me. I’m doing this for the kids who can’t be themselves… it wasn’t for me anymore and I was doing this for so many people all around the county and the state and possibly the world and I am so proud to win this not just for me, but everyone out there.

What amazing courage and dedication! Few people of any age would have the strength of character to make such a bold, public stand. Fortunately, the students at her school proved supportive. On September 20, blue and gold balloon at the school revealed her win. “I instantly just dropped to the ground and started crying,” Campbell said. Campbell’s mother is very supportive, calling her “wonderful” and saying “I never would have thought in my lifetime that I would see this.”

Sadly, not everyone has been so supportive. After the election was announced, she was subjected to bullying comments and feedback that she described as “ignorant.”

After 16 years of struggling, I finally do it and I finally am myself — thinking I’ll be so happy. It’s just sad that everyone has to be so judgmental about it, and so hateful, and so mean and so negative. I’ve never done anything to any of these people. And I don’t know why they have to be this way, when I’ve done nothing to them. It just hurts so bad because I feel just as much of a girl as all of them do.

Let us all send Cassidy Lynn Campbell our support and help her celebrate both her accomplishment and her wonderful spirit. She deserves happiness and success.  Let us also hope that Cassidy’s narrative is heard and we all stand in solidarity with her to help fight transphobia.

6 Responses to “Hero of the Week Award, September 27: Cassidy Lynn Campbell”

  1. Central Oregon Coast NOW September 27, 2013 at 6:56 am #

    Reblogged this on Central Oregon Coast NOW.

  2. Jennifer Carey September 27, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    I also have to applaud her classmates that voted for her and stood by her. While there was some ignorant hate-mongering, the school endorsed her and voted for her. It was awesome!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 27, 2013 at 11:15 am #

      Jennifer, thank you for being such a strong ally! Yes, we need to applaud her classmates for their solidarity.

  3. Christine Noble September 30, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

    It is sad that there are still those that lash out against us, but this story definitely lends credence to what I have said for a while. The bigots are getting louder because they know they are becoming obsolete. Cassidy and the students who made her homecoming queen have proven that.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 1, 2013 at 7:29 am #

      Let us hope that Cassidy and her allies can create a choir of voices that help stomp out bigotry and transphobia and all of the other isms.

Leave a Reply

