Bigot of the Week Award, January 24: Sarah Palin

24 Jan

sarah-palin-finger-485x322Wow! I’m not quite sure where to even start here but I over heard a member of the KKK saying to one of his fellow Klan members: “Palin is really racist.” On MLK Day, a day one hopes people are doing some reflection about equality, equity, and new ways to eradicate racism and hate, Sarah Palin decided to exert her white power and privilege, showing just how racist she really is.

Palin addressed President Obama on her Facebook page with:

Happy MLK, Jr. Day!

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Mr. President, in honor of Martin Luther King, Jr. and all who commit to ending any racial divide, no more playing the race card.

Not only does Palin manage to desecrate Dr. King’s sentiments, but she tells President Obama and all black people in the United States that racism must be over, so “quit saying you have experienced racism.” I can’t even imagine a more encompassing way to dishonor people’s history and narratives — to be completely ignorant of both history and current events. If possible, Palin has sunk further into the mire of the rancid tea leaves.  Her obliviousness speaks to overwhelming power and privilege.  Even just writing about her, I feel as though I will need a Silkwood Shower afterward. I will recommend that Palin do some reading about racism in the United States.

I need to thank my dear friend, Jennifer Carey for this week’s Dishonorable Mention.  Republican congressional candidate Susanne Atanus continues to prove how very charm free she really is. Atanus, who is running for Representative in Illinois’ 9th congressional district covering Chicago’s Far North Side and the North Shore suburbs, is working hard to corner the market on hate and fear mongering. Atanus feels quite comfortable speaking for God, as she wants everyone to know God controls the weather, and that autism and dementia are his punishments for the gay rights movement and abortions. Well that seems completely logical to me.

Atanus stated:

God is angry. We are provoking him with abortions and same-sex marriage and civil unions,” she added, blaming natural disasters like tornadoes and diseases including autism and dementia on recent advances in the LGBT movement. “Same-sex activity is going to increase AIDS. If it’s in our military it will weaken our military. We need to respect God.

I left rather speechless here. All I can say is that it might be a good idea for Atanus and Palin to get married, for they make quite the couple.

29 Responses to “Bigot of the Week Award, January 24: Sarah Palin”

  1. Central Oregon Coast NOW January 24, 2014 at 8:02 am #

    Reblogged this on Central Oregon Coast NOW.

  2. Dr. Rex January 24, 2014 at 8:06 am #

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Why is anyone still talking about this “bob-head” … is beyond me!! She should gracefully leave the limelight …. which she won’t!! SMH ….

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 24, 2014 at 8:13 am #

      Dr. Rex, thank you for reblogging this. Yes, why anyone, not only listens to her, but pays huge amounts of money to lister to her is beyond me.

      • Dr. Rex January 24, 2014 at 8:34 am #

        Agree!! She should just “go away” … but we know she won’t!

        Wonder how McCain feels when he sees her!! LOL …

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 24, 2014 at 8:48 am #

        I think she and McCain deserve each other!

      • Dr. Rex January 24, 2014 at 9:07 am #

        LOL!!!! Sometimes one has to be careful what one wishes for …

        Wonder if he learned his lesson!!

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 24, 2014 at 9:11 am #

        Dr. Rex, given his obstructionist behavior towards President Obama and his continued homophobia, I fear he has not learned any lessons. I suspect his being white and his enormous wealth help keep him isolated from the real world.

      • Dr. Rex January 24, 2014 at 9:31 am #

        He’s a “douche” ….. Agree, Michael!

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 24, 2014 at 9:34 am #

        Of course, Mike Huckabee has just released a horrific rant against women. Where do these fools come from?

  3. seaangel4444 January 24, 2014 at 8:45 am #

    Well said, Dr. Rex! It’s a travesty in front of our every eyes. Cher xo

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 24, 2014 at 8:49 am #

      Cher, thank you for commenting. I hope we see more of you here at Social Justice for All.

      • seaangel4444 January 24, 2014 at 8:54 am #

        Thank you, Michael. I just pushed the “follow” button and am delighted to now be following your blog. You will see more of me at Social Justice For All. Thank YOU, Michael! Cher xo

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 24, 2014 at 8:58 am #

        Cher, that is lovely! The more voices we have for social justice the better! Peace, Michael.

      • seaangel4444 January 24, 2014 at 9:07 am #

        Yes, I quite agree. Despite the fact my (new) blog is called, “The Chicago Files) it may not give the reader a clear idea as to who I am. As a Canadian living in Chicago, I see things I’ve never seen before (I think you can fill in the blanks, Michael). So it’s my personal mission to change things, even if it starts with opening a door for someone who perhaps would normally not expect it. It is with a smile, or a helping hand. I volunteer at a center for blind and low-vision folks. I am humbled as to what they teach me; I also make it my mission to ‘look out for them’, as it were in any situation I see that is unjust. I’ll get off my soapbox; for now! With gratitude and thanks, Cher xo

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 24, 2014 at 9:13 am #

        Cher, thank you for opening the door to your blog. I will have to start following you. I’m glad we are in this stand of solidarity together.

      • seaangel4444 January 24, 2014 at 9:16 am #

        Thank you, Michael! I am going to be a guest blogger for a blog on kindness. It is going to be written from my perspective as a Canadian living in the US and how kindness is seen with suspect (at times). But I tie its roots back to social injustice which is why I extend my compassion always, regardless of how I am treated. We must. Cher xo

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 24, 2014 at 9:19 am #

        Cher, I don’t think we can ever talk about kindness too much, so thank you. Peace, Michael

      • seaangel4444 January 24, 2014 at 9:38 am #

        Michael, I ride on the train a lot here in Chicago. I have the song, “Peace Train”, by Cat Stevens going through my head every single time I get on the train. It is my way of putting a vibration of peace out there in front of me! Cher xo

  4. Nancy Campbell Mead January 24, 2014 at 9:13 am #

    And now we get to add Mike Huckabee to complete the picture: racism (Palin), homophobic (Atanus) and misogyny (Huckabee)! What a week for UGLY!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 24, 2014 at 9:14 am #

      Nancy, well said and sadly said: “What a week for ugly.” These three stooges are not how I understand the social contract and the underpinnings of the United States.

  5. Girl for Animal Liberation January 24, 2014 at 12:24 pm #

    Nothing, and I mean nothing irritates me more than when people, especially these whack-jobs speak for God. How the hell does anyone know what God thinks? Assuming there is a God – sorry, I’m a fallen away Catholic.

    It seems to me, if God has something to say, He’ll say it when He’s good and ready. And if there is a God, these clowns better have a backup plan.

    I wish Palin would crawl back under the rock McCaine’s team found her. Man, I could kick that man for digging her up. No one had ever heard of her and now we can’t get rid of her. Talk about punishment. God’s punishment to the world is Palin, Duck Dynasty and a boat load of other racists, prejudice ass-clowns!

  6. prideinmadness January 24, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

    Reading comments like that, I really don’t want to know their God.

  7. Steve January 24, 2014 at 7:29 pm #

    Though the last sentence made me laugh out loud, Michael, the rest of what you had to share made my heart sad and ache. I do wish haters would be more careful of what they say. Words have substance and sure can harm. And the disrespect shown at the remembrance of a hero like MLK, especially…well, I don’t have words to express my sadness.

    I don’t mind people speaking a word of love on behalf of God; as to the rest, ugh! Such judgment. Again, makes my wee heart just ache!

    Thanks for your helpful voice, dear Michael! Keep strong and good…always so helpful!🙂 xo

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 24, 2014 at 8:33 pm #

      Stephen, I’m just grateful to be in the good company of people like you, who always manage to humble me. Thank you! Peace, Michael.

Leave a Reply

