Bigot of the Week Award, January 31: Thomas Perkins and the Wall Street Journal

31 Jan
Bigot of the Week

Bigot of the Week

Sadly, there was yet again a plethora of bigots to choose from this week, but none  so clearly sank to such a nasty level as this BWA, making this week’s winner  an easy choice. Venture capitalist Thomas Perkins wrote a letter to the Wall Street Journal complaining about the way the rich are treated in the United States. Yes, you read that correctly, this rich, straight, white guy is feeling mistreated because a few progressive voices are complaining about the lopsided distribution of wealth and inequitable treatment of people based on their net worth.

The myopia and hypocrisy would be tragically laughable, but Perkins managed to work in a bizarre Nazi reference and some aggressive anti-Semitism.

Writing from the epicenter of progressive thought, San Francisco, I would call attention to the parallels of fascist Nazi Germany to its war on its “one percent,” namely its Jews, to the progressive war on the American one percent, namely the “rich.” … Kristallnacht was unthinkable in 1930; is its descendant ‘progressive’ radicalism unthinkable now?

Did anyone else throw up while reading that? What is this man smoking? American progressives are the “descendants” of the Nazis? Jews in 1930s Germany were the equivalent of Perkins, Romney, Koch, and the other malevolent 1%ers in America? Perkins has no shame, no sense of history, and a stunning lack of awareness of his own power and privilege.

Perkins’ writings were horrific enough. Sadly, the Journal saw fit to print them. Going one step further, after an unprecendented wave of protest hit the paper, the editors published a feature entitled “Perkinsnacht.”  They called his letter “unfortunate, albeit provocative” — begging the question of why they published it — and then stepped up the hypocrisy with this gem:

the vituperation is making our friend’s point about liberal intolerance — maybe better than he did.

So, people calling a nasty bigot a nasty bigot is intolerant? Blasting anti-Semitic, hyper-privileged nonsense as nonsense is intolerant? I don’t think that word means what the editors think it means. This is such a grotesque situation that it leaves me in despair.  Are we to really supposed to pity people who carry enormous amounts of power, wealth, and privilege? I worry that not only does Perkins have no moral compass, but that the Wall Street Journal also lacks any sense of proportion or irony.

Dishonorable mention goes to long-time conservative hack Michelle Malkin, who opted to use her column inches this week to defend Perkins. Wringing her hands about the “grievance industry” of “wealth-shaming,” she accused Perkins’ detractors of participating in a “bullying epidemic.” Just a note, Ms. Malkin — the last refuge of a bully is accusing others of bullying…

16 Responses to “Bigot of the Week Award, January 31: Thomas Perkins and the Wall Street Journal”

  1. le artiste boots January 31, 2014 at 6:34 am #

    Michael, As usual you make your points with clarity. Thanks. Also you beat the news about Pete Seeger’s death. Keep up the good work. Bettye

    Sent from my iPad


    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 31, 2014 at 6:38 am #

      Thank you, Bettye. I always treasure seeing your comments! Very sad to have lost Seeger and very sad to see the legacy Perkins is leaving in stark contrast to Seeger.

  2. Dr. Rex January 31, 2014 at 7:11 am #

    Where does he live? Where is his head? Assume within the vaults of all his money.
    Well done, Michael! Reblog …..

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 31, 2014 at 7:16 am #

      Thanks, Dr. Rex. I must confess it made me a bit sick just to write the article and Perkins is the type of person that could easily make me give way to misanthropy.

      • Dr. Rex January 31, 2014 at 7:21 am #

        Well done indeed …. one wonders, where do these people come from?
        Sometimes it seems that life is unjust,
        I wonder about that Karma bus plenty of times.

        Stay warm and safe!!🙂

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 31, 2014 at 7:23 am #

        Dr. Rex, sadly Perkins being white, heterosexual, and exceedingly wealthy help protect him from reality and keep his privilege intact.

      • Dr. Rex January 31, 2014 at 8:53 am #

        Ugh!! Just sickening!!

  3. seaangel4444 January 31, 2014 at 7:11 am #

    Thank you, Michael, for another incredible post. The only way to understanding is to shine light directly on the source of that which needs to be so desperately changed. Muchly appreciated, my friend! Cher xo

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 31, 2014 at 7:17 am #

      Thank you, Cher! I am grateful to be in such good company that helps to challenge such arrogance and foolishness as we see in Perkins.

  4. Dr. Rex January 31, 2014 at 7:12 am #

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Perkins and his money!! Feeling mistreated? How so??

  5. Jueseppi B. January 31, 2014 at 7:24 am #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  6. Girl for Animal Liberation January 31, 2014 at 7:38 am #

    What a moron this guy is! I cannot even believe he wrote that. Does he expect pity from the rest of us? Please!

    What the 1% fail to wrap their narrow-minded heads around is the fact that they are now the minority and they cannot handle it. They are outnumbered by us, the 99%.

    I went to college. I work hard. I pay my bills. I live within my means and yet every month feels like an uphill battle because I do not earn a 6 or 7 figure salary. I am not rich. I am a 2nd generation Italian-American from blue-collar working parents. I have no desire to be rich. What I want is to be able to live without worrying about money all the damn time. I am a paycheck away from poverty. According to Romney I am the lazy 46% expecting a handout. Really? I don’t think so. I don’t want a hand out. I don’t want to be rich. However, I am sick and tired of the 1% ruining our country due to their insatiable greed. Enough already.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 31, 2014 at 7:41 am #

      Susan, your comments are spot on! Thank you for sharing. Exactly! Regardless of how hard you work, one can still be ” a paycheck away from poverty.” I am also mortified that the Wall Street Journal published it in the first place. Yuck!

      • Girl for Animal Liberation January 31, 2014 at 7:44 am #

        Hi Michael,

        I do not consider myself a political person; however, I do lean left (should I duck for saying that). I try to be, as Nixon once said, “The silent majority.” I vote. I pay my taxes. I do not commit any crimes — I am just trying to be a good citizen and yet every damn day it would seem the narcissistic destructive 1% are ruining it for the rest of us.

        The planet has enough for everyone’s need, but not enough for everyone’s greed. If we keep going the way we are going, we will fall, just like the Roman Empire.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 31, 2014 at 7:49 am #

        Susan, oh goodness. You made me chuckle. You need not worry about leaning left in this arena.🙂 Yes, the world has changed dramatically in the past 40 years and I fear much of the top 20% seem to live in a bubble that is not tied to any thread of reality.

Leave a Reply

