My Interview with Chris Christie

8 Feb

chrischristie_ap_img_0I was recently able to catch up with Governor Chris Christie for a brief interview.  While I want to be “fair and balanced,” I do worry that I need to be prepared for Christie to do a bit of sidestepping. 

Governor Christie, can you talk about what happened when Hoboken Mayor Dawn Zimmer said she would not support your candidacy for President?

Yes, I will tell you! I told her she better be careful, or I Would Bust the Windows Out Her Car.

My, I see how that certainly would make people take you quite seriously. What about the allegations that you withheld Superstorm Sandy relief funds?

My management of money is none of your business!

Governor Christie, how do you wish to address the issues of your implication in the lane closures on the  George Washington Bridge?

Michael, what bridge doesn’t have troubled waters?

Governor Christie, can you talk about why you do not support marriage equality?

I am  so tired of all you people–you “friends of Dorothy” people

Governor Christie, what do you think of Speaker of the House John Boehner?

All I can say is: If only he had a brain.

Governor Christie, what would you say to those that are a bit fearful of the consequences if they do not support your presidential candidacy?  Is there a justified fear of further retaliation from you?

I would tell these good people they have nothing to fear but a final countdown.

While I had many more questions, Governor Christie reported in a mumble that he was in a hurry “to get out of this place.”

I tried to chase after the governor, but he was on a plane to go and visit Vladimir Putin.

13 Responses to “My Interview with Chris Christie”

  1. Dr. Rex February 8, 2014 at 9:48 am #

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:

  2. Steve February 8, 2014 at 9:52 am #

    That was one of the funniest pieces EVER, Michael! Thanks for a Saturday smile and laugh. Keep up the wonderful work. Love your heart🙂 Steve xo

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 8, 2014 at 9:54 am #

      Steve, I’m so thrilled you liked this piece and laughed. I was hoping it would make a huge number of folks laugh and also reflect on how cruel some of our elected officials can be. Peace to you, Steve. Keep warm and safe.

  3. Phil February 8, 2014 at 11:25 am #

    Ha ha ha ha!! I think I wet myself just a little. Thanks for the Saturday laugh.
    So, Gov. Christie, how do you describe the people who still support your presidential ambitions?

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 8, 2014 at 11:28 am #

      Phil, I’m so glad you enjoyed this and had a good laugh. It was great fun to write! Peace, Michael.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 8, 2014 at 11:31 am #


        Chain of Fools by our ReRe is one of my favorites!!! Thank you for including this link!!!!!! Peace, Michael

  4. Phil February 8, 2014 at 11:45 am #

    One of the greatest songs ever for one of the 21st Century’s worst celebrity politicians. Score!!

  5. Central Oregon Coast NOW February 9, 2014 at 5:56 am #

    Reblogged this on Central Oregon Coast NOW.

  6. Bruce Kestelman February 10, 2014 at 7:06 am #

    Hi Michael,

    Just catching up now, traveling over the weekend. It was a good way to start Monday with a smile and a good laugh.

    So, have you shared your most recent playlist with us? Do we now know what’s on your iPod?

    Thanks Michael, it’s good to laugh, even when you’re dealing with a serious topic.

    Take care.


    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 10, 2014 at 7:11 am #

      Bruce, I’m so glad you were able to get a good laugh from my “interview” with Christie. I try to keep a sense of humor during dark times but I don’t always succeed. Peace, Michael.

Leave a Reply

