National Coming Out Day: Obsolete?

11 Oct

national_coming_out_day-395x400I know many of you will be clutching your pearls and grabbing your smelling salts when you now realize I am gay! Yes, there I said it.

I cannot underscore enough how important it is for LGBTQ people to be out and visible and I also realize there are still yet so many places in the United States and around the world where it is not safe to be visible. The more visible we are as a community, the more difficult it is to marginalize us and treat us as sub-human, or second class citizens, denied over 1,300 rights that our heterosexual brothers and sisters are granted just for being heterosexual. NO! National Coming Out Day is not obsolete, for it is still quite relevant and needed.

Much has improved! Watching President Obama advocate for LGBTQ rights during his inaugural speech brought me to tears, for I never thought in my lifetime I would witness the President of the United States talk about issues of equity for my community. Despite the fact that the LGBTQ community has made great strides in the past year, however, we are far from eradicating homophobia and all of the intersections that are linked to homophobia, such as racism and misogyny.

I actually think marriage equality is on the horizon for the United States and I caution people to remember this DOES not mean the end of homophobia.  While I am a great supporter and beneficiary of marriage equality, I also know we have to address the constant inequities for people who do not choose marriage. I would also encourage people to look at the many barriers transgender people still face, not to mention the increase in violence against the LGBTQ community in the past four years.

I hope that today there will be much celebrating as people find the courage to use their voices individually and collectively to be Out and Proud as a Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Queer, or Transgender person.  Living one’s life authentically allows for great freedom and of course supports the Gay Agenda!


12 Responses to “National Coming Out Day: Obsolete?”

  1. Central Oregon Coast NOW October 11, 2014 at 7:25 am #

    That you needed to write this article saddens me, but you did. I have LGBTQ family members who are still afraid to come out even to other family members for fear of the repercussions. This is so sad.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 11, 2014 at 7:31 am #

      Nancy, thank you for commenting and for reblogging this article. Thank you also for your amazing support. You are such a lovely and wonderful ally!

  2. Dr. Rex October 11, 2014 at 7:42 am #

    You have always been and will always be a wonderful human being. Your way of caring shows through ….. Following your example I will also come out to those who don’t know – here in our blogosphere!! ❤ …

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 11, 2014 at 7:44 am #

      Dr. Rex, you are always so amazing and so lovely! Thank you for being visible and thank you for your strong voice for social justice. Peace, Michael.

      • Dr. Rex October 11, 2014 at 7:50 am #

        Thank YOU … for being here and for all you do! Together we can do more ….

        Hugs ….🙂

  3. Dr. Rex October 11, 2014 at 7:45 am #

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Never will coming out be obsolete … it’s needed. Our visibility needs to be real … I will join Michael in saying …. “I am gay”!!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 11, 2014 at 7:50 am #

      Thank you for taking such a risk, Dr. Rex. I suspect most of my readers did not know that you are gay! Thank you for being visible.

      • Dr. Rex October 11, 2014 at 7:51 am #

        I have no qualms anymore …. I did before but now I don’t!!!

        hugs …. I’m proud to be who and what I am. Took a lot of effort in every sense of the word!!❤ ….

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 11, 2014 at 7:53 am #

        Yes, it takes a great deal of effort, energy, and courage! Brava!

      • Dr. Rex October 11, 2014 at 7:55 am #

        Back at you!!❤ …

  4. stephenpaulyoder October 11, 2014 at 7:30 pm #

    It’s been a LONG time since I’ve been in touch, Michael. (A move from Milwaukee to Chicago knocked me off my perch for a couple months!). But this one really moved me. Thanks for the personal touch. But also the good prod in terms of equality work yet to be done! Thanks for always being good medicine for my heart, life, and soul! Love and smiles sent your way!🙂

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 12, 2014 at 7:57 am #

      Stephen, it is always lovely to hear from you. I hope you are well. Thank you for your strong voice for social justice and for always keeping me humble. Much love, Michael.

Leave a Reply

