Women’s History Month 2015: Women on 20s

20 Mar

Rosa20What a great movement to initiate during National Women’s History Month — getting women’s faces on our currency. How sad that while women make up more than half the population, we only see white men’s faces on our currency.

How might we look at this more equitably? How can we work together to put a woman’s face on the twenty dollar bill? Who should it be? I know Alice Paul is getting a lot of traction, as is the amazing Shirley Chisholm. I must confess, I am rather partial to seeing Rosa Parks on the twenty dollar bill, although I do love Eleanor Roosevelt.


A Call To Action: Click here to cast your vote! A Women’s Place is on the money!

20 Responses to “Women’s History Month 2015: Women on 20s”

  1. Dr. Rex March 20, 2015 at 7:21 am #

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Women’s faces on US currency!!

  2. Mr. Militant Negro March 20, 2015 at 9:37 am #

    Reblogged this on The Militant Negro™.

  3. Central Oregon Coast NOW March 20, 2015 at 7:38 pm #

    Reblogged this on Central Oregon Coast NOW.

  4. Carol A. Hand March 23, 2015 at 12:40 pm #

    An ingenious idea, Michael. Thank you for sharing this. I am somewhat disappointed that there were no Indigenous women on the list.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt March 23, 2015 at 12:46 pm #

      Hi Carol, yes, I’m so glad this is moving forward. Yes, it is very disappointing not to have any indigenous women represented on the list. I will look into giving some feedback and see if they can add some women to vote for!! Peace, Michael.

      • Carol A. Hand March 23, 2015 at 12:47 pm #

        Thank you for your thoughtful response, Michael🙂

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt March 23, 2015 at 12:59 pm #

        Carol, thank you for being so kind to me consistently! Honestly, I think I am rather embarrassed that I did not notice the list was so flawed. Here is where I am confronted with my own privilege again. I am humbled and grateful for you!

      • Carol A. Hand March 23, 2015 at 1:05 pm #

        Thank you for being so thoughtful, Michael. As someone who is bicultural (Ojibwe/Anglo-American) it’s something I would notice, but I know few others do through no fault of their own.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt March 23, 2015 at 1:59 pm #

        Carol, I did leave a message for the organizers of Women on the 20 and asked they add indigenous women to the list. I will let you know if I hear back from them. Peace, Michael.

      • Carol A. Hand March 23, 2015 at 2:11 pm #

        Thank you for this, Michael❤

  5. Carol A. Hand April 10, 2015 at 10:16 pm #

    Michael, I thought you might want to see this: http://www.newson6.com/story/28747498/wilma-mankiller-finalist-for-20-bill. Thank you for following up on this earlier.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 11, 2015 at 7:06 am #

      Hi Carol, yes. I just saw this. I’m so glad that Wilma Mankiller is one of the finalist. I was sad they never got back to me, but at least they added an indigenous woman to the list. I can’t wait to find out who will be on the $20. Peace, Michael.

Leave a Reply

