Thanksgiving 2016: A Terrifying Time

23 Nov

diffiturkeyI usually post my annual iteration of A Collective Amnesia, for Thanksgiving, but this year seems particularly painful as I reflect on the profound sanctioning of racism, homophobia, and misogyny in the United States. I am nonplussed by the number of people in this country who are not mortified by how we are treating Native voices in North Dakota, as opposed to how we treated white tyrannical voices in Oregon.

I am more than disturbed and saddened that a white millionaire man who publicly makes fun of people with disabilities, says that it is okay to grab women by the genitals, makes horrific racist comments against the Latino and Muslim communities, and was endorsed by the KKK —  endorsed by the KKK, let that sink in — is our Presidnet-elect. How do we come back from this? If the United States ever had any moral high ground, we have categorically lost it.

I wish I could be hopeful for 2017, but Trump’s cabinet is full of nothing but white supremacists, homophobes, xenophobes, and misogynists. Where do you go when the President Elect selects White Supremacist, Steve Bannon? How is that supposed to make people feel safe in this country? As a gay man, how am I supposed to feel safe with Mike Pence as Vice-President? Pence who passed the Hate Bill (Religious Freedom Act) in Indiana that allows people to discriminate against the LGBTQ community. Pence who believes in conversion therapy. Pence who has shut down Planned Parenthood Clinics. How am I and the people I love supposed to feel safe with the appointment of infamous racist and homophobe Jeff Sessions of Alabama? Sessions who was rejected for a judgeship in 1986 because of his racist comments is suddenly fit to lead law enforcement in the United States? Sessions who supported the KKK until he found out that some of them smoked pot–wow! Sessions who has supported DOMA, who has created barriers for the LGBTQ community at every turn, just as Pence has. The message is clear: only white heterosexual men are safe.

I can only hope that all targeted people and our many allies stand in solidarity and refuse to normalize what is currently happening in this nation. Finally, I am grateful for my loving husband and for all the people in my family and family of choice whom I treasure. We must support and love one another. I leave you with some Sweet Honey in the Rock, Ella’s SongIn solidarity, Michael.

25 Responses to “Thanksgiving 2016: A Terrifying Time”

  1. nonsmokingladybug November 23, 2016 at 6:08 am #

    I fear there is no coming back from this. Pandora’s box has been opened and now we will have to deal with it. This nation has always been divided, but now it’s out in the open. I can’t even talk to my friend right now, because I know she has voted for Trump.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt November 23, 2016 at 6:14 am #

      I’m so sorry about the rupture between you and your friend and I know this is happening around our country right now, which evidence at how divisive Trump is. Yes, this is a dirt that will not wash clean and will tarnish our nation for all of history! In solidarity, Michael.

      • nonsmokingladybug November 23, 2016 at 7:22 am #

        Wishing you a Happy Thanksgiving with the people you love. In solidarity, Bridget 🙂

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt November 23, 2016 at 7:31 am #

        Thank you, Bridget! I hope you will be surrounded by love and good energy!

  2. Central Oregon Coast NOW November 23, 2016 at 6:52 am #

    Reblogged this on Central Oregon Coast NOW.

  3. Central Oregon Coast NOW November 23, 2016 at 6:54 am #

    I can’t “Like” this, but you expressed perfectly my concerns. We must all stand together and fight the hate and bigotry that we are seeing all around us.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt November 23, 2016 at 6:57 am #

      Nancy, thank you for your fierce allyship and leveraging your power for targeted communities. Love, Michael.

  4. Charles Davidson November 23, 2016 at 7:22 am #

    Michael, thank you for this and for your courage. I and countless others stand with you and will not bend the knee to Trump and his sycophants. I would like to post this blog on my Facebook page. Blessings to you.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt November 23, 2016 at 7:30 am #

      Charles, thank you for standing in solidarity! Thank you also for sharing the article! Peace, Michael.

  5. Martha McCormack November 23, 2016 at 7:57 am #

    We Who Believe in Freedom Cannot Rest

  6. bevanyardleigh November 23, 2016 at 8:17 am #

    I am thankful that more than half of U.S. voters opposed the charlatan demagogue.

    I am thankful that there seems to be an organized, vocal resistance to his assumption of office. (In the words of the great Australian band Redgum, “If you don’t fight, you lose.”)

    I am thankful that President-elect Cheeto Peep is already breaking campaign promises while demonstrating a manifest disregard for the office he will hold. That makes normalizing him so much harder, even for our soundbite media.

    I am thankful most of all for smart passionate voices like yours, helping us all coalesce our rage and sorrow, knowing we are not alone.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt November 23, 2016 at 8:21 am #

      And Bevan, thank you for standing in solidarity and for using your voice! I am grateful for allies like you. Peace, Michael.

  7. brianarbenz November 23, 2016 at 9:15 am #

    I don’t wish to be unrealistic — I know and feel the dangers we face. Still, the coming political time is an opening for our resistance. And it is forming strong at all levels. I’m going on the Women’s March on Washington and following that I will fight hate in many other ways when the situation arises. I am off the sidelines! Look at Congress. Bernie Sanders and Elizabeth Warren are coming into prime leadership within the Democratic Party, a party which shrunk into lethargy and acquiescence after the right wing surges of 1994 and 1980. I don’t mean we are necessarily going to prevail, but it is a real possibility. There are big doubts among the pundits about the Republican Party’s ability to come together and stay together for this administration. Remember, a desire to see the factories reopen and good wages and benefits return in the Marion, Ind.s and the Newton, Iowas (two places where I have in recent years heard residents talk of their hurt over their opportunities lost to globalism) propelled Trump into the White House. Hillary Clinton failed to see this issue, content to be viewed as huddling with Wall Street. When Trump’s mere words that “I will” bring the jobs back are seen as hocus-pocus without results, and the Democrats propose a real plan for this task, momentum could swing back to the progressive side. In the meantime, we must fight voter suppression, as the Republicans believe that may be their only way to hold on to power. We need to revive the 14th Amendment, the most important and least appreciated part of our constitution. Its equal protection clause, if cited in the various campaign finance court cases of the last 40 years, could have prevented the false doctrine of “money is speech” being foisted on us by an ACLU which opted for “free speech absolutism.” Call on the ACLU to include the equal protection of the 14th Amendment in weighing how something as unequal as money relates to speech.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt November 23, 2016 at 9:19 am #

      Brian, thank you for your comments and allyship. Nice mentioning of the 14th amendment. Peace, Michael.

  8. Lyn St. Louis November 23, 2016 at 11:26 am #

    I don’t recall how I first connected with your blog, Michael, but I’m so glad I did! I appreciate your voice and commentary very much. Wishing and hoping for oases of peace, love, & joy along the way for you and all of us during this most challenging of times.
    Best,
    Lyn

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt November 23, 2016 at 11:29 am #

      Thank you so much, Lyn. Wishing you a happy and loving holiday. Peace, Michael.

    • brianarbenz November 23, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

      Michael is a great person to have come across just at this time, isn’t he! I am feeling great about exchanging views with him and others on his blog. I have discontinued using the once essential but now out of control Facebook. Social Justice For All is one of the really supportive and well run media in a time when misinformation and trolling are wrecking the major online media and the New York Times reporting of the new presidency has so far been mush.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt November 24, 2016 at 6:42 am #

        Brian, what high praise! Thank you. I only hope I can continue to earn your trust and respect for the quality of my blog. I hope you are surrounded by love and support today. Peace, Michael.

      • brianarbenz November 25, 2016 at 11:05 pm #

        You are most welcome!

  9. Kathey Moore-Carter November 23, 2016 at 2:08 pm #

    An amazing piece from an amazing person. Thank you for your strength and inspiration…and clarity. 😊

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt November 23, 2016 at 3:38 pm #

      Kathey, thank you for being such a fierce ally and for such lovely comments. On a side note, how bizarre that I have known you for close to 30 years! 🙂 Peace, Michael.

  10. Jera Jones Igo November 24, 2016 at 7:24 am #

    Thanks for Ella’s Song. Let’s keep singing and praying!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt November 24, 2016 at 7:26 am #

      Jera, thank you for commenting here. Yes,I love that song. We need to organize peacefully and stand in solidarity. Peace, Michael.

Leave a Reply

