Difficulty Feeling Bad For John McCain: The Point Of No Return

26 Jul

Yesterday marks a very sad day in the history of the United States, albeit we have had too many sad days since 45 was elected. Yesterday was particularly unconscionable, in that we witnessed 50 senators and the Vice President actively taking steps to take away health insurance for millions of Americans — a new low, even for the GOP. Yes, the Republicans are moving forward on Trumpcare when it does not even exist yet.

Another exceedingly problematic part to this equation is that Senator John McCain (who has been on the wrong side of history for at least the past two decades) showed up to Washington, DC only to vote the wrong way. The irony is more than just heavy, given his recent diagnosis of a brain tumor while he has the best healthcare plan possible in this country, paid by taxpayer dollars. Yes, while McCain and all of Congress don’t have to worry about healthcare, Mr. Maverick voted to take away health insurance for over 20 million Americans. I am having a very difficult time trying to have compassion for the homophobic, misogynistic, racist, John McCain. While he frothed at the mouth about how ridiculous this whole process has been, he nevertheless decided to participate and is part of the ridiculousness and he is a part of the problem. I’m quite nonplussed as to how this is “Making America Great Again,” a quote by 45 that has always felt like coded racist language to me, for “Making America White Again.” McCain’s hypocrisy is emblematic of the hypocrisy that is the Republican party.

It has been difficult to keep up with the blog in the past six months, as I find it more than a little bit depressing to keep up with how destructive 45 and this administration have been. I seem to get at least two or three new stories from the New York Times every day about how 45 has embarrassed the nation yet again. For those that are holding hope that he will be impeached, it is not going to happen, as much as I would love to get rid of this entire administration. The sociopathic duo known as Paul Ryan and Mitch McConnell are not going to bring 45 up for impeachment. Let us instead take action and prepare for the 2018 midterm election.

For those experiencing great 45 Fatigue ( a new diagnosis that I am introducing and should be in the DSM), I would offer this: finds ways of taking care. For me, I have to cut off any news after an hour. I am also watching a lot of good television. I highly recommend watching Daytime Divas with Vanessa Williams and Tichina Arnold.

Updated July 28, 2017

While McCain eventually voted the right way, why did he not vote earlier NOT to proceed? Why participate in the drama and waste of tax dollars? I also feel the need to underscore that McCain is NOT a hero here. In fact, I want to applaud Senator Lisa Murkowski, rare that I applaud a Republican. Murkowski was threatened by 45 and his administration and she refused the bribes from McConnell.

25 Responses to “Difficulty Feeling Bad For John McCain: The Point Of No Return”

  1. Dr. Rex July 26, 2017 at 6:52 am #

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Fully agree! Difficulty in feeeling bad for the supposed “Macerick” … sad day in America!! 😰

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 26, 2017 at 6:56 am #

      Thank you for reblogging this, Dr. Rex. I don’t know about you, but I am experiencing some serious 45 Fatigue, and now 45 has made his horrifically transphobic declaration not to allow trans folk to serve in the military. 😦

      • Dr. Rex July 26, 2017 at 7:00 am #

        Yes, I just saw it … this is the beginning. I expect him to come for the entire community and diminish ALL advances and progress!! 😦

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 26, 2017 at 7:04 am #

        Yes, I fear you are right. I think he is coming after the entire queer community! 😦

      • Dr. Rex July 26, 2017 at 7:06 am #

        😰😰😰 … I’ve been waiting for it since the Muslim ban! 😰

      • Dr. Rex July 26, 2017 at 7:07 am #

        If it happens, I’m hoping for a march like the Women’s March …πŸ’₯

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 26, 2017 at 7:08 am #

        We need a march where ALL targeted communities come together and unite!

  2. Dr. Rex July 26, 2017 at 6:56 am #

    My dear friend … I feel the same! I used to look for interesting, educational, funny topics for my blog. I still manage a few but the joy is gone! And yes, since 45 got in!! He’s everywhere, every day! I’m losing part me me. I’m always on edge … fight or flight! Believe you me, i would go back to Puerto Rico in a flash. If I’m going to be miserable, I’d rather be so at ‘home’ … yet, the grandkids tie us here!
    Hugs and love! ❀️

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 26, 2017 at 6:58 am #

      Dr. Rex, I am grateful for you and glad you are here and resisting! Lots and lots of love, Michael.

      • Dr. Rex July 26, 2017 at 7:01 am #

        TY .. yes, resist!! Lotsa love!! ❀ ❀ ….

  3. bevanyardleigh July 26, 2017 at 9:36 am #

    Thank you for another inspiring, insightful post. You have me thinking about two very different things, so I hope you’ll forgive the presumption of two replies.

    First, on McCain. Thank you for calling him out. He built a Sunday morning talk show reputation DECADES ago that the mainstream media just can’t let go. He still sounds like a statesman (relatively speaking), so they give him style points.

    The truth is, he votes with Trump positions over 90% of the time. 538 rates that at nearly 30% more that should be expected for his state, a very high rate for a so-called moderate.
    Rushing from his tax-payer supported sickbed to do the Trumpian bidding pretty much erases any sympathy I might have felt for his condition. What a sad, sorry, excuse for a Senator.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 26, 2017 at 9:46 am #

      Hi Bevan, thank you for your thoughtful comments. Yes, he is a sad and pathetic Senator, but even sadder is that he is a pathetic human being. Peace to you, Michael.

  4. bevanyardleigh July 26, 2017 at 9:37 am #

    On another note, 45 Fatigue is a real thing and merits real treatment. I agree with you – take breaks from the constant barrage, seek out joy wherever you can find it. Summon up positive energy so you have the strength to do what must be done, but don’t let the need to fight overwhelm you.

    Thank you for articulating the exhaustion!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 26, 2017 at 9:48 am #

      Bevan, I hope you are practicing self-care. The struggle is real and I suspect 45 and his administration are trying to wear us down.

  5. Mary Jo Doig July 26, 2017 at 6:14 pm #

    Thank you for so clearly articulating this latest insanity. I admit to be taken in by McCain’s poignant words, but understand after reading your piece that he was wrong not to say NO.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 26, 2017 at 9:35 pm #

      Mary Jo, thank you for reading and commenting here. Yes, I am quite sad that McCain continues to be on the wrong side of history. Peace to you, Michael.

  6. Gronda Morin July 27, 2017 at 8:30 am #

    Dear Michael Hulshof-Schmidt,

    I’v e been calling Trump fatigue, Trumpitis. It is hard to regularly blog on him with his sycophants including republican legislators without feeling somewhat frustrated, outraged, upset. This is a good thing because it is this anger that keeps me from not giving up.

    As for John McCain, yes, I am disappointed with his vote. However, he may redeem himself yet, if he keeps voting no on all the republican options.

    Hugs, Gronda

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 27, 2017 at 8:33 am #

      Hi Gronda, yes, the fatigue is real! I fear McCain is beyond redemption, but I shall hold on to your optimism. Lots of love, Michael.

  7. Gronda Morin July 28, 2017 at 2:15 am #

    Dear Michael Hulshof-Schmidt,

    i HOPE ITS OKAY TO SAY, I TOLD YOU SO. Senator John McCain came through for all of us.

    Hugs, Gronda

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 28, 2017 at 6:12 am #

      Hi Gronda, yes, he did the right thing here, and he should have saved us all from this drama and taxpayer expense voted NO to proceed. Much love to you, Michael.

      • Gronda Morin July 28, 2017 at 8:19 am #

        Dear Michael Hulshof-Schmidt,

        You are so right. But I do love the way this went down.

        Hugs, Gronda

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 28, 2017 at 8:32 am #

        Yes, a sigh of relief for the people in the United States!

  8. eurobrat August 26, 2017 at 1:27 pm #

    45 Fatigue…that’s a great way to describe it. I, too, am struggling as my blog topics have turned very dark. I’m thinking about at least temporarily ditching political writing and going back to writing non-political fiction.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt August 26, 2017 at 1:42 pm #

      Thank you for your comment here! Yes, the Fatigue is real, and it just seems to get worse with each passing day. I look forward to reading your blog! Peace, Michael

      • eurobrat August 29, 2017 at 8:09 pm #

        Thank you Michael!

Leave a Reply

