45 Fatigue: The Struggle Is Real

30 Jul

Somehow I thought for sure this alone would have prevented 45 from moving forward, that his mocking a person with a disability would have been enough. Then I thought his bragging about “grabbing a woman by the pussy” would have been enough to stop him. Sadly, this is who we are stuck with currently and who is destroying Democracy on a daily basis. I do wonder how on earth are people able to live with themselves for voting for such a monster.

As I mentioned in my last article, I believe most of the nation is currently experiencing some serious 45 Fatigue — most of us in the nation are currently on edge, pugnacious, unsettled, anxious, depressed, angry, or any combination of the above. And it is not just those of us who identify as progressives who are feeling the pain. I am experiencing people all over the political spectrum who are struggling — as Ru Paul’s Kennedy Davenport said: “The struggle is real.”

I have some friends/family in Georgia who have been lifelong Republicans who are feeling the pain and disappointment. I suspect many Republicans are in mourning, for they are now realizing the party they believed in has been obliterated by 45, Paul Ryan, and Mitch McConnell.

One can’t even keep up with the daily barrage of bizarre goings on and the continued human rights violations that we are kept abreast of via Twitter, because that is now the way the President of the United States communicates with us. First, 45 and his administration came for our Muslim friends and family, then they came for the Latino community, then 45 came after the journalists, and scientists, then he came after the poor and tried to strip away health care for millions, then he came after all of us in the LGBT community. I hardly know how to cope. What’s more, I have daily reminders that my family members who supported and still support 45 are responsible for this destruction.

Apparently, there is and will always be approximately 25% of the population that will always support 45 regardles. This population is implacable and also sadly misinformed and guided by fear, racism, misogyny, and homophobia.  Sadly, 45 and his followers have only proven they are, in fact, deplorable. Of course, this hurts my heart more than I can express. It hurts my heart that the behavior we witness daily could be acceptable to anyone. 45’s appointment of Scaramucci is nothing less than appalling and only helps to normalize a vulgar society. I’m sure Scaramucci is only too happy to be 45’s work wife, or is he the Mini-Me for 45?

As I said, I can’t even recount all of what has happened in just the past week. Do I start with his inappropriate behavior with his speech to the Boy Scouts, whom he apparently thought were his Trumpenjugend? Do I address the transphobia? Do I focus on his encouraging police to increase brutality? How about bullying his loyal attack dog, Jeff Sessions or firing Reince Priebus? Blindsiding military commanders in hateful tweets that led them to believe we might be headed for war? I am having difficulty coping, as I know the rest of the 75% of the nation is right now. It is clear Scaramucci is an echo chamber for 45 and is helping to normalize vulgarity, as though this were some how Presidential? Yes, national television and radio are broadcasting Scaramucci’s speeches: “What I want to do is fucking kill all of the leakers…I’m not Steve Bannon, I’m not trying to suck my own cock.”  This from the new Director of Communications, sanctioned by 45. Wow! I have no words.

What is helping me endure this nightmare is watching television shows like: The Good Fight, Daytime Divas, Ru Paul’s Dragrace, and Samantha Bee. What are you doing to cope? How can we support each other? How can we be loving of ourselves, and of each other? I am going to work hard to invite joy into my life. I hope all of you find ways of creating and sustaining joy. Peace, Michael.

18 Responses to “45 Fatigue: The Struggle Is Real”

  1. Phyllis Mervine July 30, 2017 at 5:39 pm #

    We all could have it all if we’d just tax the super rich. I don’t know what the extreme aversion to that is. IMO no one deserves to earn 500X more than his employees for a day’s work! But so many would rather blame refugees and immigrants than the real culprits — greedy capitalists. Someone with $10M isn’t going to miss $5,000,000. Yet it’s half of his worth. He’ll still have $5M! Can’t he live well on that? Take half the net worth of every multimillionaire and the treasury would have enough to send every kid to college, pay for healthcare, fix the infrastructure. What’s so bad about that? But no. What we have is a 1% who are hoarders. They can’t even spend all their money. It’s so sad.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 31, 2017 at 6:02 am #

      Well said, Phyllis!! How are you coping? How are you finding ways to invite joy? Peace,Michael.

    • Phyllis Mervine July 31, 2017 at 4:15 pm #

      I am saddened by the tone of the discourse, so I do what I can to change it. Many people have the wrong information. I try to supply the correct information in a positive way, and even if they seem to be bigots and have values very far from mine, I try to figure out where they are coming from, and talk to them in their language. For instance, there are articles that discuss the benefits of immigrants to our economy. If someone loves America, wouldn’t that kind of information temper their attitude? I’m hoping so. I am hopeful that the situation will show people that it’s important to be involved, and that it will actually improve our democracy. There’s much more to be done! I also give money to campaigns. These activities make me feel like I’m doing something worthwhile. Gardening and wine are good, too.

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 31, 2017 at 4:21 pm #

        Phyllis, I love your optimism. I shall have to borrow from it when I feel in despair. Peace, Michael.

  2. Anne Laue July 30, 2017 at 6:05 pm #

    Yes, there are too many unsettling things going on to even list them. It is discouraging to say the least, but now is the time more than ever to stay strong and fight back in any way possible. Passive resistance is very helpful in preventing progress of an agenda. I’m thinking something along the lines of boycotting Twitter and taking away his megaphone. Doesn’t Twitter require users to stay in business?

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 31, 2017 at 6:02 am #

      Anne, how are you finding ways to invite joy? Thank you for commenting. Peace, Michael.

  3. bevanyardleigh July 31, 2017 at 9:07 am #

    Thank you for another thoughtful and inspiring piece. The exhaustion is so thorough one can almost see it in the sky.
    For myself, I cope by aggressive weeding in my flowerbeds, then appreciating the improved view over a glass of chardonnay. Your mileage may vary, of course, but it works wonders for me! 🙂

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 31, 2017 at 9:09 am #

      Bevan, just reading how you cope with the fatigue allowed me to breathe and smile. Thank you! Peace, Michael. 🙂

  4. drkrisg July 31, 2017 at 11:13 am #

    I cope by focusing on my writing, my friends, and the things I can do to support local causes. I try to do a little yoga every day, but am not always successful at that. Reaching out to people I love and care about seems to be the best for me.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 31, 2017 at 1:55 pm #

      Thank you for commenting here and for sharing some tips that help you get through these difficult times. Yes, reaching out to people we love is a great idea! Peace, Michael.

  5. Mary Jo Doig July 31, 2017 at 11:42 am #

    Indeed I share your thoughts and feelings. For myself, I cope by simply trying to give kind words and actions in my everyday interactions with everyone. Trying to show in my small way that there is goodness and kindness in our world that I have to believe will prevail again, some day, some time, in our country and our world. I also look for these qualities from others and treasure them when I encounter them. Shalom.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt July 31, 2017 at 1:57 pm #

      Hi Mary Jo, thank you so much for commenting here and sharing some lovely tips to helps us all get through. I love tapping into the goodness and kindness that does exist. Peace, Michael.

  6. evelyneholingue August 1, 2017 at 2:24 pm #

    So much in agreement with you, Michael. Still hope for the big thing that will force him out. But meanwhile, I also watch good shows. Some are French 🙂 But mostly I read. Great books for kids and teens are starting to come out since the election. Many writers worry for our youngest citizens. What kind of world are we offering them when the supposed role models turn into everything we told them not to embrace?
    And I practice yoga more regularly. Mostly to stay healthy in this health care debacle, but also because the men and women who practice yoga tend to be more compassionate and less judgemental.
    Peace to you and your readers.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt August 1, 2017 at 2:52 pm #

      Evelyn, thank you for commenting here. I always love hearing from you! Clearly, I need to start practicing Yoga again! If you have some good book recommendations, let me know. I love getting book recommendations. Peace, Michael.

  7. Nicole Costello August 2, 2017 at 11:48 pm #

    Michael,
    I am still trying to find ways to cope. I do teach my three young, (straight?), white boys how privileged they are and how their journey is meant for supporting and fighting for (with) the greatness of those who are not like them. Teaching them about consent. About racism. About kindness. About fighting (within and?) against the system. I (barely) cope. How? Loving on my boys. Working at my school with fucking AMAZING students. Fighting against 45 at every corner that I can – even when I feel like I’m the only one. Even when I feel like my argument is not good enough, too stupid, not well-informed enough, or said to people who will NEVER agree. I need to speak up. I need to fight. I need to show my kids that we don’t stand back. Right?!
    And, yes, wine (and coffee) help the coping too.

    It is still so hard. Was I living in a fucking bubble? How did this happen? And how is it continuing? I can’t help but thinking that we live only amongst racists …said the white woman – – shame on me for not being fully aware before this monstrosity we call our president (really?! Blech) but god almighty, do I get it now!
    Wait! How do I cope? I’m visiting Canada right now. No T word here…yet.
    Love you and miss you, Michael. Xo
    Nicole

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt August 3, 2017 at 6:23 am #

      Nicole, you are such a tremendous gift to the world! Your children are so lucky to have you, as we are all lucky to have you here. Lots of love, Michael.

  8. desertcurmudgeon August 26, 2017 at 4:20 pm #

    When I’m in the right frame of mind, I cope by meditating on universal compassion and remind myself that those who act so heinously and selfishly are unhappy people — in their own way, they are suffering and they cannot break out of their cycle of hate and greed. In those moments, I am sad, but with hope. When I am not feeling such universal love, I agree with you completely: that’s when it’s time to turn on Full Frontal with Samantha Bee.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt August 26, 2017 at 10:52 pm #

      Paul, what a lovely framing you offering here–so full of compassion and love! Thank you! I hope I can be as generous as you are and kind of heart! Peace, Michael.

Leave a Reply

