Bigot of the Week Award: September 21, Rupert Everett

21 Sep

Bigot of the Week

This week’s BWA was a particularly sad one for me to write.  I am consistently sad when I learn of self-loathing gays who internalize oppression.  Rupert Everett, star of An Ideal Husband, The Importance of Being Earnest, Shrek II, and many other films, proved to be an amazing disappointment and demonstrated both his self-loathing and his privilege.

In an interview with The Telegraph Everett stated, “I can’t think of anything worse than being brought up by two gay dads.”  Really? You can’t think of anything worse? Wow, what a privileged life you live.  I hear Mitt Romney is looking for self-loathing gays such as yourself for endorsements.

Another statement of Everett’s revealed his ignorance of his own power, influence, and privilege: “I’m not speaking on behalf of the gay community. In fact, I don’t feel like I’m part of any ‘community.” If only it were that simple, Mr. Everett.

I’m embarrassed for you that I have to explain this, but you see you are a major celebrity and regardless of your intent, people will be guided by what you say.  Your influence is disproportionate by design of your celebrity. You have not only proven to be most ungenerous to your LGBT brothers and sisters, but you have proven that your own internalized oppression has rendered you a homophobic bigot.  You are also clearly not a man of science, which has demonstrated that children from same-sex parents are actually more well adjusted than children from opposite sex parents.  You must have the same science background as the bigot Mark Regnerus. You are now 53 years old.  Might I suggest a good therapist for you?

15 Responses to “Bigot of the Week Award: September 21, Rupert Everett”

  1. Didion September 21, 2012 at 7:14 am #

    Oh, how utterly depressing. I’ve always held a good measure of respect for Everett, who came out long before it was common to come out and risked being forever typecast, or even losing out on work, as an actor of good renown. And now he feels it necessary to publicly step on people who live lives he “can’t imagine”?

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 21, 2012 at 7:17 am #

      Didion,
      I have always held Everett in high regard as well. I’m exceedingly sad that he chooses not to see his own privilege.

  2. prideinmadness September 21, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    I don’t even think I need to list things that would be worse than being drought up by two Dads….it should be obvious.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 21, 2012 at 7:48 am #

      Yes, I’m very sad by his ignorance and privilege. I worry that our Everett is just a vapid pretty face.

  3. Kim September 21, 2012 at 9:21 am #

    Michael, you summed up my own sense of disappointment with Everett’s comments perfectly. The first thing that I thought when I read his comment was “here’s another self-loathing gay”, one who benefits by his celebrity, but has no heart connection with himself or “any” community. And that must cause him to feel separate, isolated, and probably, alienated. He could do himself a world of good by changing his thinking from that of being on the “outside looking in” like the little match girl in the old fairy tale to a more inclusive idea of connection to the world he lives in. But, he probably has no motivation to change that thinking since he can grudgingly generate headlines simply because he is who he is. It makes me realize that celebrities may or may not be good role models. I guess I just have a higher expectation of better thinking from those who bask in the limelight, draw in the big bucks, and shout through the megaphone.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 21, 2012 at 9:35 am #

      Kim,

      Fantastic comment. Yes, this is not just one man’s opinion, for if it were it would not make the papers. Everett suffers from a great amount of ignorance of his own privilege and influence.

      • Kim September 21, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

        Spot on, Michael!!

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 21, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

        Thank you, Kim.

  4. James Queale September 21, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    I’ve enjoyed various films he’s been in, but the moment I saw his comments I thought it was The Onion. His statements enraged me because I one day look forward to adopting or being a foster parent and statements like this could make some children think they are getting the short end of the stick because they have a gay parent. It would have been one thing if he said he preferred to see children raised by heterosexuals parents (still just as enraging) but when he said gay parents are the worst thing, that was just completely dumbfounding.

    I would not be surprised if groups like NOM use his words in their hate videos. Despite him not feeling a part of the “community,” his words affect our community greatly. Has he not seen the slew of LGBT teen suicides in the media? Indeed, I’m sure he has, and that makes it even worse.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt September 21, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      Jamie,
      What a very powerful comment! It is so very sad that Everett’s comments carry so much weight because he is a celebrity, which makes his internalized homophobia quite dangerous. You and Tom will prove how wonderful and loving same-sex parents are. I would also point out that the world is filled with same-sex parents, so what is the consequence of Everett’s words? Do we put these parents up for extinction? NO! We embrace and support them.

  5. asoutherngirlsguide October 5, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    I can think of things worse than having two gay dads:
    Having a parent who doesn’t care about you
    being an orphan
    feeling like a part of you is missing because you have no one to call dad or mom
    So either way i think we can all come up with a million things worse than having two dads

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 5, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

      Maddy,
      All I can say is that you know I would love to have you as my daughter! If you ever need anything, you let me know!

      • madeline knox October 5, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

        And would love you as my dad you are the greatest. It is because of teachers like you that I did not give up on my education even though my family had and that I saw a future for myself. I LOVE YOU!!!!

      • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt October 5, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

        Honey, you know I will move mountains and waters for you! The world is a better place just because Madeline Knox is here!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Well, that sucked: “Hysteria” (2011) « Feminéma - October 5, 2012

    […] it proves merely to be grating. (I will admit that Rupert Everett had his moments, but I’m mad at him right now, thanks to our friend […]

Leave a comment