Bigot of the Week Award: January 13, Maryland Senate President Mike Miller

13 Jan

Bigot of the Week

For those that have accuesed TSM of not exposing bigotry and hypocrisy from Democrats, you will see that TSM has no political bias when it comes to exposing hypocrisy, racism, homophobia, or misogyny.  How very sad that Democrat Mike Miller from Maryland has no clue about civil rights.  His tirade against marriage equality earns him this week’s BWA.

Regarding marriage equality, Miller said:

I’m a historian and I look at civilizations, I study civilizations, I read history every night. And I see it’s an attack on the family, I think it’s an attack on traditional families. That’s the way I see it.

Exactly how is it an attack on traditional families?  What is a traditional family? Shall we punish single parents raising children? Shall we also punish couples without children?  Miller sadly shows his pathetic ignorance as an “historian.”  Let us not forget that African Americans were not allowed to have “families” in the United States until the end of slavery. How sad that the Decmocrats in Maryland gave this man a position of authority from which to trumpet his ignorance.

Of course, it is no surprise that TSM gives California girl scout “Taylor” a dishonorable mention for her boycott against the Girl Scouts for allowing a transgender girl to join.

4 Responses to “Bigot of the Week Award: January 13, Maryland Senate President Mike Miller”

  1. Didion January 13, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    I’d like to know how history has provided this asshole with such a conclusion. How has history shown him that gay marriage destroys the traditional family, when gay marriage has virtually no history at all yet? I never fail to be stunned by the fact-free statements of belief offered up by people like him who have incredible positions of power.

    I also read recently that lesbian households have 0% of child abuse rates (the article had no information on gay male households, otherwise I’d offer that too). Seems to me that the traditional family has a lot to account for.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt January 13, 2012 at 8:02 am #

      Didion, Yes, I am horrified at how such ignorant people get to such positions of power only to abuse that power. Thank you also for pointing to statistics on lesbian households. I know there is a good amount of research that shows that children from same-sex households are proportionately more well adjusted than children from coming out of heterosexual households.

  2. nevercontrary January 13, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Well my daddy says god loves me just as I am . so suck on it Mike Miller.

Leave a Reply

