Bigot of the Week Award: April 26, Steve Kush

26 Apr
Bigot of the Week

Bigot of the Week

I get many nominations for Bigot of the Week and have grown accustomed to the ugliness that is included in the stories I read. This week’s winner — courtesy of my friend Jennifer Carey — was so odious, however, that I had to stop reading until I could contain my rage.

Steve Kush executive director of the Bernalillo County Republican Party in New Mexico showed his true colors after a public hearing on raising the minimum wage in the county. When a 19-year-old woman representing Working America testified in favor of the higher wage, Kush tweeted

Nice hat Working America chick but damn you are a radical bitch.

Really?! Where do I even start to unpack all the hate, misogyny (a very big word for our Steve), classism, and ageism? Simply stating her concern for those barely earning a living wage at a public hearing makes her a radical? Using the word “chick” (not to mention his other language)?  Are we back in the 1950s?  Clearly, Kush attended the Clarence Thomas School Charm School, or would that be Charm Free School? As of April 26, Kush has offered no apology and remains isolated in his white, heterosexist, male, privilege — further pulling the GOP down into an abysmal time machine of shame.

Dishonorable mention this week goes to the Boy Scouts of America for adding “clueless” to “homophobic” on their list of Demerit Badges.

no youth may be denied membership in the Boy Scouts of America on the basis of sexual orientation or preference alone.

This plan would retain the ban on gay adults serving in any capacity. That means gay youth are being told they’ll be tolerated as long as it’s just a phase. If they don’t grow out of it, out the door they go. The word “alone” at the end of this tepid mini-reversal is also troubling. It would clearly allow individual troops to punish out scouts for “being disruptive” simply for being who they are. In an attempt to look accepting (are they using the GOP’s rebranding experts?), the BSA has crafted a meaningless compromise that makes Don’t Ask Don’t Tell look like civil rights genius. I do wonder when all of these straight scouts, both adult and youth, made the decision to be straight?

11 Responses to “Bigot of the Week Award: April 26, Steve Kush”

  1. Jennifer Carey April 26, 2013 at 6:29 am #

    Michael, you left out his even more offending comments like “Uh oh another working chic… nice boots… I know she makes more than minimum wage.” and “She was hot enough to almost make me register Democrat.” revolting.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 26, 2013 at 6:35 am #

      Jennifer, I am truly grateful that you were able to add to this article. I’m afraid I had great trouble writing it, for I wanted to spit up at every turn. By the time I was finished writing about the nefarious Kush, I felt like I needed a Silkwood Shower.

  2. Bruce Kestelman April 26, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    Hi Michael,

    NPR is reporting today that the Mormon Church is supporting the “compromise” that was announced by the National Scout Executive Committee. What else do you need to know?

    The scouts get to keep the Mormon troops and look like they are listening to feedback and they might even get some corporate money.

    But then I wonder, why bother? Why not just turn our backs on scouting?

    They seem to be a dinosaur still here, but I wonder if they are not heading to their death as numbers continue to decline and their relevance, isn’t.


    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt April 26, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

      Lovely points. Yes, how tragic (or maybe they deserve each other) the BSA IN BED with the Mormons!

  3. prideinmadness April 27, 2013 at 4:44 am #

    I have reclaimed “radical bitch”! I can’t think of anything else I’d rather be😛

  4. Central Oregon Coast NOW April 27, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    Reblogged this on Central Oregon Coast NOW.


  1. I’m A Radical Bitch | Pride in Madness - April 27, 2013

    […] Social Justice For All gave this week’s Bigot of the Week Award to Steve Kush, the executive director of the Bernalillo County Republican Party in New Mexico. […]

Leave a Reply

