Of Guns, Homophobia, Islamophobia, and Trump

13 Jun

PrideI suspect most of the country, like myself, is still in shock over yesterday’s mass murder in Orlando, Florida at the gay nightclub, Pulse. So much pain, so much loss, so much hate. As I reflect on the loss of life and the fueling of hate against my community, I can only hope that all of us within the LGBTQ community can stand in solidarity and support one another and reach out to support all of the families impacted by yesterday’s massacre. I hope we also unite and not give rise to the already intense Islamophobia the United States is currently engaged in. How disgusting and pathetic is Donald Trump with his comment around this tragedy: “Appreciate the congrats for being right on radical Islamic terrorism, I don’t want congrats, I want toughness & vigilance. We must be smart!” Have you no decency, Mr. Trump?

When do we start to have serious conversations around gun control? The 50 people dead in Orlando no longer have a voice, so we need to use ours individually and collectively. I am hard pressed to be convinced that a human needs access to a gun such as the one Omar Mateen used, an AR-15 type rifle,  to carry out his homophobic slaying. My heart also goes out to Mateen’s family, for they have lost their son and they have to live with the consequences of his actions. There is nothing good for anyone in this tragedy.

My hope is that we do not give into fear, that we resist feeding hate, that we look for our shared humanity, and that we offer love and support to all impacted by the shooting in Orlando. I also believe now is the time we take action and demand for greater gun control. Here is a link (thank you to my friend Nancy) to sign a petition asking for a ban of the AR-15 type rifle from civilian ownership.

Finally, I hope the entire LGBTQ community can stand in solidarity and enjoy Pride Month — let us defeat fear and hate with Love!

10 Responses to “Of Guns, Homophobia, Islamophobia, and Trump”

  1. Central Oregon Coast NOW June 13, 2016 at 8:23 am #

    Reblogged this on Central Oregon Coast NOW.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 13, 2016 at 8:27 am #

      Nancy, thank you for reblogging this, thank you for being such a strong ally, and thank you for the link in the story! Peace and love, Michael.

  2. Kathleen Saadat June 13, 2016 at 9:24 am #

    Michael, thank you for this. As I watch the path my country is taking, it feels as though my heart breaks a little more each day. Let us, you and I and whoever will, continue the call for justice, peace and love. I love you.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 13, 2016 at 11:39 am #

      Kathleen, I love you so much! Yes, let us unite our voices of love for peace and social and economic justice. Kathleen, I’m so grateful to have you in my life and you inspire me everyday!

  3. Susie Snyder June 13, 2016 at 9:34 pm #

    Well said!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 14, 2016 at 6:01 am #

      Thank you, Susie. Thank you also for being such a strong and loving ally! Love, Michael.

  4. Nunya Bisiness June 19, 2016 at 4:11 pm #

    I am guessing homophobia is akin t\o hydrophobia, which is the fear of water. It is also referred to as rabies. Therefore homophobia must refer to fear of homos or queers. I am not so much afraid of homos just not prone to associate willingly with them!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 19, 2016 at 6:50 pm #

      Your homophobia and hate are not appreciated. I feel quite sorry for you. May you find peace, Michael.

  5. Carl D'Agostino June 27, 2016 at 12:58 pm #

    Can’t stand Hill or Trumpet.May vote Green Party and don’t feel that’s a wasted vote. Voted for Ralph Nader in 2000 as did 97,000 other Floridians but seems earthlings still not listening about ever imminent demise of our planet.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 27, 2016 at 1:15 pm #

      While I appreciate your integrity, I do worry that a vote that is not for Hillary is a vote for Trump. While Hillary is not my first choice, I worry about the harm Trump can do and is doing currently. Thank you for the comment. Peace, Michael.

Leave a Reply

